Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    34,902
    I reloaded windows yesterday and lost computer sounds. But, I still have sounds associated with movie clips and music in my media player library. Honestly I think I deleted some programs that may have had something to do with losing the sound which is why I reloaded windows. But it still don't work.

    Under "Sounds and audio device properties" it says > No audio device.

    Again I have sounds associated with movies and windows media. Just no system sounds. I also use the phone though the Internet and that don't work.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,065

    I Have Not A Clue

    But I hope Georgia will schedule some tougher football opponents this year. Sheeeeeesh!
    I pray not for an easy life but that I be a strong person.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Florida Panhandle
    Posts
    4,550
    Ok, let me give this a try. Since you didnt tell what your audio device is I can only give you some general advice. By computer sounds I assume your talking about windows start up sounds etc.

    Windows claims you have no audio device which makes me believe you need to run some software associated with your computer. Look to see if you have some software related to your particular machine.

    Also it would be helpfull if you gave some info on what type of machine you have and which windows your loading. Its kind of unusual for XP not to see the device or at least ask you when loading it, to supply a software disc.


    Roy

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407
    Throw it out the window and go buy yourself a new one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    34,902
    It is XP and I was about to run a few dics. My sound device is not a seperate card but on the mother board

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407
    If you go to your control panel and click on "sound and Audio Devices" then click on "sounds" and choose "windows default" and then check the next three choices to make sure all cards are registering. If not you may be able to manually click on them and see if they are still there and reset them. If not have you tried a System Restore yet?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Urbandale IA. USA
    Posts
    4,962
    The mother board should have come with "system resources" CD.
    It may be on one of the CD's that came with the computer.
    Otherwise you can go to:

    http://update.microsoft.com

    and they can update most of your hardware.

    Those who dance, appear insane to those who do not hear the music.
    Those who believe, appear ignorant to those who do not know God.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,407
    Originally posted by cehs
    The mother board should have come with "system resources" CD.
    It may be on one of the CD's that came with the computer.
    Otherwise you can go to:

    http://update.microsoft.com

    and they can update most of your hardware.

    That's if you got XP the RIGHT way. ;D

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    34,902
    Originally posted by workhorse
    If you go to your control panel and click on "sound and Audio Devices"
    That is when a widow opens and it says "No audio device."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    34,902
    I have a AMD Athlon XP 2000

    1.68 Ghz

    Microsoft XP Version

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ft.Worth,Tx
    Posts
    4,584
    Need to systems restore to 'default' and it should pick the sound card up unless you need some type of driver for your sound card. Then you would need to find out what type sound card and modem you have and http://www.microsoft.com. XP has up-grade drivers , but some software is not compatable with Windows XP . I found that out with my camera and Robio software for IBM camera's won't work without new software.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Dallas,Texas
    Posts
    4,985
    You will probably need to get the drivers for the onbaoard sound card.

    The board\computer came with a resource disk

    OR

    Go to Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manager

    There you can find the maker of the sound card and go to their web site for a driver package.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Coastal Georgia
    Posts
    34,902
    My sound device is on the mother board. My mother board is aGa 7dx

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event