Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Water Regulating Valve

Water-regulating valves controlled by refrigerant head pressure are recommended to be installed in the supply water line to a condenser. I've seen several installed many years ago that are in the condenser leaving water line.

What are some reasons for the recommended location as being in the supply line and not in the return line?
    I'm still learning this trade.

They need to be in the outlet, not the inlet. Otherwise the water will just go down the drain.

Let me clarify that thought.

The water is held in the condenser by the reg valve. When the condensing temp rises, the valve opens up and let's fresh water in, by letting water flow out of the coil. If the valve were to be placed on the inlet, it would open up, and the water would simply flow through the coil and out to the drain. The coil temp would never be regulated.

Most water cooled units I see are always on the inlet side of the condenser. The only one that I can think of that regulates on the outlet side is Hoshi ice machines. I believe the said they use a little less water that way but I could be wrong.

I must agree most I have seen are on the inlet side of the condenser. I have seen them on the outlet but rarely.

If the regulating valve is placed on the supply water side, the out let line has to rise above the condenser, in effect, acting as a trap and allowing the condenser to stay full of water.

One positive point to keeping the regulating valve on the inlet is the water pressure in the condenser will be at atmospheric pressure. If you have a rupture in the wall between the refrigerant/water, as the gas leaks out into the water, little or no water will enter the system. Eventually, all the gas will leak out and both the water side and refrigerant side will be at 0 psi.