+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Getting into Refrigeration...

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

Getting into Refrigeration...

Hi,

I'm a maintenance guy at a grocery store. I've been doing this job for about 2 years, and have really settled on making refrigeration a career. It's my job to call the refrigeration guys whenever we have a problem, and I follow them around like a puppy asking questions. Several of the journeymen have sort of taken me under thier wing. I've gotten to where i'm pretty good, although I'm certainly no journeyman. I understand a rack system (we have 4 36 HP Hussmann protocols with Emerson/Einstein controllers) and I do simple stuff like replace gaskets on reach ins, clean the condensers on the roof, clean evap coils, replace bent/broken fan blades, clean condensate drains etc. Last week I learned how to replace a filter/dryer core and sightglass (system had water in it). Not that I'd EVER do it myself. But I could if you put a gun to my head.

So now I need to find training. Several of the journeymen that I work with are encouraging me to apply with their company as an apprentice and the union would train me for free (if/when I get a job with a union shop). The other option I have to go to trade school...a decision I hear a lot of people regretting on these forums.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...

Post Likes
    Before anybody can help you, they need to know where you live...

Post Likes
    DON'T DO IT!! get a desk job

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by Phase Loss View Post
    DON'T DO IT!! get a desk job
    You said it Brother!
    "Don't wish it were easier, wish you were better"

Post Likes