Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi everyone. I have posted here a time or two in the past. I have to confess I am not an HVAC tech. I am a land developer- putting in the streets/subdivisions for the builders you all install the units for!

Anyway, I am buying an investment property- existing house that is zoned for office. It has a new Lennox system in it- installed about 1 year ago. It is on the main living level on plywood subfloor and not set in a metal pan w/ cutoff switch. I believe this is a code violation if I am not mistaken.
    My main issue is how do I tell what the tonnage of the A/C unit and BTU of the furnace is? The current owner has had the house in "perfect" shape but vacant for the last year (he is too old to want to fool with renting it). he keeps the utilities active but basically keeps the A/C off. We are in Atlanta so it gets hot. I had him turn it on for a day to make sure it would cool the house down. it was 78 inside when we turned it on in the A.M. and at 5 P.M. it had only cooled it down to 73 (thermostat was set to 70). I am concerned it is too small to adequately cool the house, especially once computers are installed, etc.

On the side of the unit inside the house it had the folowing numbers:

M/N G4OUH-36A-070-02
    S/N 5801E-47756

If i have done things property below are two links to some photos of the unit.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...te/furnace.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v2...e/furnace2.jpg

thanks!!

also...

One thing the did I have never seen is if you look at the part of the furnace where the insulated copper pipe goes into the unit (at the top of the unit), it is like a hardboard plastic...isn't this typically ductboard??
    Additionally, the second picture you will see an arrow in it. This is where the contractor used flex line to bring gas service into the unit. I am pretty sure that it is supposed to be ductile iron coming out of the unit and then they can switch to flex...?

Thanks!