Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: question????

question????

I am an HVAC tech want to open a bussines as independent contractor in NC . Any rule which limitation the technician?

Ask your state contractor's board

Most every state, county, and sometime city has its own set of rules for contracting (doing business for profit). Check with your state contractor’s board for proper requirements. There’s usually a heavy fine for contracting without a license. Angry customers and other contractors will feed you to the wolves. Remember federal/state taxes and yearly business/licensing fees. Running a legal business is not cheap, running an illegal one can break the bank. Please do not take my word as final fact. Seek sound advice, ask your state contractor’s board. Hope this helped.

question???

thanks

Check with your states licsencing and regulations department. Here in TX you need to take an exam but only after you can prove 3 years hands on experience in the field....

Link to NC Board;
    http://www.nclicensing.org/

Quote Originally Posted by APEX View Post
    I am an HVAC tech want to open a bussines as independent contractor in NC . Any rule which limitation the technician?
    There should be plenty of other guys from NC along shortly to reply to your question, but after reading your initial post I don't think you're quite ready to go out on your own. If you don't know the rules and regulations of the state licensing board, you're obviously not licensed in this state.

if you intend to sell & install equipment_ you'll need a contractors license,_ depending on just what you sell/install will determine the license you need

a business license

insurance

bond

to just run service is a gray area,_ need to check with you LAHJ

and just what does this question have to do with the convention?
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

ammonia

Hi,