Question Question re: Programmable Thermostat (hold function)

Hello all. I recently moved into a condo that I'm renting, and it has a White Rodgers 1F94-371 programmable thermostat. I found a manual for it online but it didn't really answer my question. I have never used a programmable thermostat before.

I live in North Carolina where it has been really hot for the past week or so, and I turned the AC on last week for the first time. I set the temp at 78, which is fine for me. I didn't notice until today that the thermostat constantly reads "HOLD" while it is on. I've always used thermostats that just show "AUTO". So, I pushed the "system/mode" button. At that point, the display changes from showing HOLD constantly to alternating between HOLD and AUTO. Pushing "system/mode" again goes to heat, and then one last push turns the system off.

So here's my question, if I leave the system in HOLD mode the whole time my AC is running, am I using a lot more electricity that when the display is alternating between HOLD and AUTO? I've had the AC on constantly without turning it off for the past week. I work from home, and it has been over 90 degrees here. I hadn't turned it off at all until tonight, so it has been in HOLD mode that whole time. Have I made or huge mistake that I'll pay for when I get my bill? I just heard my father's voice come out of me as I declared that I hate this new-fangled crap! I want a regular old thermostat. Cool, heat, off. That's all I need. I hope this has made some kind of sense. Thanks in advance for your help.

Use program if you want it to cut back at night or if you leave at certain times during the day.

The HOLD feature will hold the Temp at the selected temp till you adjust it or Run Program.