Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Post Likes

    Variable speed fan and Heat Pump

    I upgraded my heating system, Bryant 80V variable speed fan natural gas unit, by adding a Heat Pump. The installed and I attempted to figure out why the variable speed fan was only operating on the low speed setting with no luck. Any ideas.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,926
    Post Likes
    Have the installer check the board's dipswitch settings carefully.

    His installer should already know this

    Do not attempt yourself.
    Last edited by beenthere; 05-26-2011 at 05:47 AM. Reason: DIY info
    I've discovered a natural law - everything gets progressively worse. Things only break down and become depleted. Life isn't worth living and everything is going to hell.

    Death is the messiah. Everything else is irrelevant and arbitrary.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Post Likes
    The installer did check the dipswitch settings. He is a recent graduate and not as familiar with the Bryant Plus80v circuit board. I was simply trying to help educate myself and him on the system. The installation manual also doesn't spell it out very well. There are three diferent sets of Dipswitches. One labeled SW-1 with about 8 switches, one AC with 3 and one SW-3 with 3. Tried several different configurations with no variable speed fan in the AC mode.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    69,470
    Post Likes
    He can contact his distributor and ask the tech support guy there how to set it up, or trouble shoot it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Post Likes
    That is what we will need to do. It will need to wait until after the long weekend. Thanks for the reply.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Eastern PA
    Posts
    69,042
    Post Likes
    It could be due to several things, so making guesses without being in front of the equipment could do more harm then good.
    Government is a disease...
    ...masquerading as its own cure…
    Ecclesiastes 10:2 NIV


  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Post Likes
    I reviewed all the wiring to the furnace circuit board and found the first stage compressor contact wire on the thermostat was improperly wired to the Y1 terminal on the furnace circuit board. Now it is wired IAW the furnace diagram. Now the fan speed is higher when the compressor turns on. The next step will be to try the DIP switches to allow the blower to vary its speed. Once again thanks for listening and providing any small insight.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event