+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help with aquarium chiller

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Post Likes

Help with aquarium chiller

Hi forum, new member here. I'm not a professional HVAC repairman or anything, just looking for some help with a used aquarium chiller I purchased.

Anyways, it's a 1/5hp chiller driven by an older Copeland/Tecumseh condenser model number m2fh-0020-saa-102 or ARB17C3E-SAA or AEA3417YXA depending on which brand you are talking about. Here's a datasheet: http://www.tecumsehcoolproducts.com/...AE520AT-166-J7

And more info here: http://www.hvacrinfo.com/Compressors/CopelandWelded.pdf

Anyways. When I got the device it turned on and ran perfectly except for ice forming on a line going from the compressor to the evaporator coils--I think it's called a suction line. The suction line developed a THICK layer of ice on it within minutes of running the device (no ice on the coils). I did some Googling and people said that ice on the suction line is either (a) dirty coils or (b) low refrigerant. I cleaned the coils and the issue persisted.

The system has a low-side service cap and uses R134, so I bought a guage and measured the PSI. It was about 11psi. From what I've read, most aquarium chillers are typically at 25-45psi. I increased the PSI using some R134 refrigerant from an autopart store to about 40psi, and the ice problem went away.

Did I do the right thing? Was there supposed to be ice?

The sticker on the device says it is good for psi up to 160 on the low side, so 11psi seemed pretty darn low.

Thanks!

Post Likes
    [SIZE="5"]YIIIIIIIIIKES!!!!!!!!!!!

Please get a professional service man "Quickly" to check this unit before you kill yourself or god forbid....Some innocent bystander...
    Ain't "None" of us as smart as "All" of us..

Post Likes
    Quote Originally Posted by RichardL View Post
    [SIZE="5"]YIIIIIIIIIKES!!!!!!!!!!!