Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 66
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18

    Unhappy Vents cool only 67-68 degrees

    Need help. Just installed new 3 ton for 1300sf home.(I know, oversized slightly) but wanted to cool home faster and colder. Old unit wouldn't cool home. I also don't have enough insulation in house.

    Why doesn't the air out of the vents come out cold? Have temp. set at 77 on a 98degree day. Intake says 77degree but air out of vents only 67. That's a 10degree difference. Any one know why?

    System is a Goodman 3 ton,14 seer. Tech says this is normal for a 14 seer. True?

    [Edited by joe 40 on 08-21-2005 at 05:14 PM]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    It is not normal if the humidity is low or normal in the house. A 10 temperature drop could indeed be normal if the humidity level is high very high in the house, but generally I would only expect to find a 10 split on a system when it is very hot and somewhat humid in the house, not when the RA temperature is below 80.

    There are many things that can cause your problem, none of wich anyone can make an educated guess at with the information provided.

    With an oversized 14 SEER system with fixed metering, you are going to have some real problems with humidity control, even once the system is operating properly.
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    5,987

    Supply Air 68' F

    Originally posted by joe 40
    Need help. Just installed new 3 ton for 1300 S.F. home.
    (I know, oversized slightly) but wanted to cool home faster and colder. Old unit wouldn't cool home.
    I also don't have enough insulation in house.

    Why doesn't the air out of the vents come out cold?
    Have temp. set at 77 on a 98 degree day.
    Intake says 77 degree but air out of vents only 67.
    That's a 10 degree difference. Any one know why?
    [Edited by joe 40 on 08-21-2005 at 05:14 PM]
    I would say 3 tons for 1,300 S.F. is
    MORE than slightly oversized.


    Joe,
    Check temp directly at Air Handler outlet.

    If air handler outlet temp is <_ 62'F,
    your duct is not providing the best performance.
    With 98'F outside temperature is the attic > 140 degrees.
    Are the ducts located in the attic?

    Keep searching for root cause
    because with low air flow (~1,000 CFM) Minimum Delta T across air handler should be at least 20'F.
    77'F - 57'F out AT air handler.

    Best of luck and patience!
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18
    Ducting is in the attic and no it can't be more than 130 degrees cause I installed an electric exhaust fan. It's set at 110.

    Do you think I should have gotten a 2 1/2 ton? That's what I took out cause tech told me it was too small!!
    What kind of humidity should I have if I have the temp at 77 degrees. Is 54% high? Outside temps are like 98-100.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, Ny
    Posts
    631
    Originally posted by joe 40
    Ducting is in the attic and no it can't be more than 130 degrees cause I installed an electric exhaust fan. It's set at 110.

    Do you think I should have gotten a 2 1/2 ton? That's what I took out cause tech told me it was too small!!
    What kind of humidity should I have if I have the temp at 77 degrees. Is 54% high? Outside temps are like 98-100.
    Is it a fixed orifice or txv?

    Just because your fan is set at 110 doesn't mean that it's 110. That fan cannot move that many CFM to keep the attic that cool. It is very possible that you attic can reach 140 in many areas of your attic. Just not near your t-stat, which are usually located near the fan.

    Was a manual J done on your home?
    Happiness is the only good. The time to be happy is now. The place to be happy is here. The way to be happy is to make others so.
    -Robert Green Ingersoll

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    66,761
    give the mod numbers of the outdoor, and indoor unit, if the indoor is a mod, give the coil number also.

    Doesn't goodman use a 5 ton coil on the 3 ton high seer stuff.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    33,389
    What did the heat load calc on the house call for?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    S.W. PA
    Posts
    3,298
    just a thought but did anyone check the air filter?

    i know its a new a/c but does not mean that they checked it


    also did they change the whole system or just the condensing unit?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18
    Filter new.
    Whole thing was changed inside and out. Brand new ducting too. Spend a fortune and still not working!!

    No heat load done, but last unit would run all day to cool house and it was a 2 1/2. Yes, they say it should run like that but paid electric bill of 288!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Poughkeepsie, Ny
    Posts
    631
    Originally posted by joe 40
    Filter new.
    Whole thing was changed inside and out. Brand new ducting too. Spend a fortune and still not working!!

    No heat load done, but last unit would run all day to cool house and it was a 2 1/2. Yes, they say it should run like that but paid electric bill of 288!!
    $288? There is a reason why they call it comfort cooling. My bill was $224. I live in a 800 2ft home. It was also over 90 for many days. But it kept my house at 75..

    Call back the company that installed the system and have them explain or fix why your new system is not working. Sounds like it could be an installation realted problem.

    Ask them to also provide you with the reason they chose 3 tons.

    Click on the bullseye on the top of the page, pay 50 bucks and then you'll know what size unit you should have in your home.
    Happiness is the only good. The time to be happy is now. The place to be happy is here. The way to be happy is to make others so.
    -Robert Green Ingersoll

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18
    Temp was only set at 78degrees! 3 hundred a little too much for my pocket.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    5,987

    Exclamation TX or AZ ?

    Originally posted by joe 40
    Do you think I should have gotten a 2 1/2 ton? That's what I took out cause tech told me it was too small!!
    What kind of humidity should I have if I have the temp at 77 degrees. Is 54% high? Outside temps are like 98-100.
    54% is good for most areas.

    Location ? ____
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    18
    Live in South Texas.Would love to feel cold air coming out of vents instead of just cool.

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event