Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    104

    Inexpensive Lon Network Jack

    Anyone have any info on one of these? I need to mount some in my panels. I usually use Honeywell TR21J's but I am trying to keep cost down. I don't have any device's out in the field I can plug into. In the past I have built some, mounted them in plastic covers and put them in a 4X2 box. I dont have time for that now.
    thanks
    If it aint broke dont fix it!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Western Colorado
    Posts
    497
    I carry an old t7770 in my bag.
    RealEyes
    Realize
    RealLies!




  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Fort Worth\Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    1,696
    Just go to radio shack and get some female stereo jacks.
    Go Rangers!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    26
    For low cost, it is hard to beat the TR21 option. You can use the T7560LONJACKS, but mounting them is a problem. If you're in the habit of supplying terminal strips in a control panel, you can just provide a couple extra terminals and use a lon cable with "flying leads".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Western Colorado
    Posts
    497
    blindhog, I don't know if You're in the habit of using terminal strips or not, I read that you're not suppose to use them unless they're spec-ed for Lon.
    RealEyes
    Realize
    RealLies!




  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    321
    We always have terminal strips for Lon. Anyone know what the Lon rating entails, maybe gold plated or something?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3,641
    inexpensive...fooeey.....Loytec has a free one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    26
    I would guess that we land the bus on a terminal strip in about half of our panels. I'm unaware of lonworks terminal specification.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Western Colorado
    Posts
    497
    This is what I read. I can't remember where I found it, but I emailed it to myself so I would have it . I'm looking!
    "if a lon controller is mounted in a panel and the buss enters the panel through terminal blocks, then attaches to the devices lon connector and then leaves through another set of terminal blocks, we have just created a potential problem by adding four additional splices (on both sides of the terminal blocks) and done an improper buss media transfer because of the change of buss media at the metal that runs through the terminal block itself"
    RealEyes
    Realize
    RealLies!




  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Western Colorado
    Posts
    497
    I found that quote on Niagara Central. It was in a blog by Patrick Cunningham. My apologies to you! I thought it was a rule I read, not an opinion. We've used the terminals in panels too, I saw this and thought it might be the problem at a particular install. I had the installer remove the Lon bus from the terminals and put them in wirenuts and most of the comm issuses cleared up. We no longer use terminals for Lon.
    RealEyes
    Realize
    RealLies!




  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,322
    We've been using wagos with Lon ever since I can remember - Rail-Mounted Terminal Blocks (Side-Entry). I guess that's technically a media type change, so I'm not sure how the conductivity, capacitance, etc interferes.
    Need to read that "electronics signaling theory" book Matrix was talking about.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image