Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 16
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    222

    Hs36 Ac voltage accuracy

    Hello all, I just picked up a fieldpiece hs36 multimeter. It looks pretty cool and I like all the features. I just got a question about it for anyone who owns fieldpiece. Is it normal for the meter not to be at zero when you set it to ac voltage? Without the leads being in contact with anything it shows a voltage between 2.3 and 2.9v or so. It seems to have some kinda delay or needs calibration. I had a fluke 116 before which seemed really accurate.

    I would appreciate some input. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,510
    Quote Originally Posted by moenaboulsi View Post
    Hello all, I just picked up a fieldpiece hs36 multimeter. It looks pretty cool and I like all the features. I just got a question about it for anyone who owns fieldpiece. Is it normal for the meter not to be at zero when you set it to ac voltage? Without the leads being in contact with anything it shows a voltage between 2.3 and 2.9v or so. It seems to have some kinda delay or needs calibration. I had a fluke 116 before which seemed really accurate.

    I would appreciate some input. Thanks
    The HS36 is a slow responding meter. However, the 2 or 3 volts you're seeing is probably just stray voltage in the air that the meter is picking up. If you short the leads together that reading should disappear.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacrmedic View Post
    The HS36 is a slow responding meter. However, the 2 or 3 volts you're seeing is probably just stray voltage in the air that the meter is picking up. If you short the leads together that reading should disappear.
    Thanks for the info, I'll try shorting out the leads and see what happens, it's hard to adjust to a slow responding meter like that coming from a fluke. Overall meter looks really good.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacrmedic View Post
    The HS36 is a slow responding meter. However, the 2 or 3 volts you're seeing is probably just stray voltage in the air that the meter is picking up. If you short the leads together that reading should disappear.
    Not really any difference when you short the leads. I mean the measurements are accurate when your testing, but when on stand by the numbers are all over the place when you move the leads around, it jumps between 2 and 80v or so when they're being moved. Kinda throws you offer track

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    3,824
    Millivolts?
    Always here

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by energy star View Post
    Millivolts?
    Vac

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the work truck
    Posts
    2,998
    Should have stick with the fluke. Ok seriously tho. I think if you look at the display you'll see mv somewhere. Your not reading v. The higher end flukes do it to. Are the numbers bouncing around a lot?
    Gotta have the right tool for the job!

    Where is all the stuff MADE IN THE USA?

    "Thats what we do Troy. Incredible, Invisible, Imbelivable things. We are an Unseen, Unknown, Unvincible fraternity of craftsman.."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    3,824
    Vac? See the little m
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Always here

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    5,510
    Quote Originally Posted by energy star View Post
    Vac? See the little m
    You got your question mark in the wrong place. I had to read it twice.

    OP, the HS36 is an autoranging meter. That little m is hard to see sometimes, especially if you're not looking for it.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NE OHIO
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by hvacrmedic View Post
    You got your question mark in the wrong place. I had to read it twice.

    OP, the HS36 is an autoranging meter. That little m is hard to see sometimes, especially if you're not looking for it.
    Yeah wish it had manual range also, thats only thing i dont really like about mine but id find something i dont like with just about all of them

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by Pascone10 View Post
    Should have stick with the fluke. Ok seriously tho. I think if you look at the display you'll see mv somewhere. Your not reading v. The higher end flukes do it to. Are the numbers bouncing around a lot?
    The display says AC on the top left, and just "m" on the center bottom. Iam sure it's set on ac volts because I get 120v on a receptacle. It bounced around quite a bit when the meter and leads are moving around

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Windsor, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by energy star View Post
    Vac? See the little m
    Maybe your right mine looks exactly luke yours when it's standing. I reads 1.8. With the ac and m on the screen. What's Does that mean?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    NE OHIO
    Posts
    778
    Quote Originally Posted by moenaboulsi View Post
    Maybe your right mine looks exactly luke yours when it's standing. I reads 1.8. With the ac and m on the screen. What's Does that mean?
    its very sensitive

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event