I bought an older house which the previous owners have done EVERYTHING wrong in. The dryer vent (electric dryer) currently vents in the crawl space, not a good idea. I plan on installing a gas dryer but would like to vent it up through the roof. How should the vent be terminated, should I follow the National Fuel Gas Code guidelines with a 2' stack above anything in a 10' radius of the stack or is there another way to do this. They certainly don't cover everything in Tech. school for this trade, I graduated in December and currently work on water and air cooled chillers.
    I am thinking of posting pictures of the furnace install in the Wall of Shame, everbody would get a real good laugh out of this one!

would not try going to high or far with dryer vent due to lint build up. go out side wall away from a/c unit or any air intakes. no screws in duct connections!!

I would love to go out sideways but it would be about a 25' run through an unconditioned crawlspace that is so low that you could not crawl through, unless you got a shovel and made a path!

laundry center of house??

Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    25' is the max. for duct length ,and each elbow counts as 5'.

If over that,check out http://www.fantech.net,for a dryer vent booster fan.

The termination for the dryer vent should be have a flapper door.
    Here is an Example

Notice that it has a wire mesh grille, that must be removed, it will be a lint trap. I install dryer vents everyday, and as long as you have a flapper door on the wall cap or roof jack your ok, but dash is right, if the dryer riser is too long it will be ineffective.
    When you vent a dryer up no matter how well or how short, you will have lint build up. Unless its a wall cap it will build up over time.

* I just checked Dash's link, Wow! That is neat. Don't know how they work but if I was concerned about venting over 15ft. I might consider this little booster fan.