Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Combing 3 gas lines to 1?

Hello to all, I am new here with a general question, please excuse that I have no knowledge what so ever on HVAC, so that is why I am asking my question here. I tried doing a search on the net, but been unsuccessful for days now. Anyway here is my question:

I am currently looking into a property that has 3 apartments, and I notice that the house has 3 gas meters, one is for ranges, second is for the water boiler and the 3rd is for the furnace (radiant heat in walls) for all 3 apts. I had my real estate agent find out how the gas bill is paid? And it seems the owner pays 100% for gas and during the winter months he charges tenants $100 extra to cover the gas bill. The water boiler, furnace and gas meter are in the same room, so I was wondering if it is possible to combine the 3 gas line to 1 and reconnect everything, so then each tenant can pay for each meter, as opposed to buying 3 water boiler and 3 furnace. It might sound crazy, but I am wonder if this is possible, also I am taking into consideration if an apartment because vacant I will be paying for it.

Thanks

it can be done, however i think it would be way too costly.ie not worth it.
    a plumber could give you a bid.and this job it supposed to be done by a licsensed plumber.
    best of luck.

That would be a question for your local gas authority. It would be their decision on what they will allow you to do.

I didn't understand the full scope of your question, but I will address this none the less.

1) Some states/local governments require separate billing for separate units so you would need multiple meters.

2) Is it Technically possible? more than likely, but as said check with your utility.

3) I see no benefit in grouping everything together by appliance as it would seem you suggested. you might save a small amount my having a single account but I think the cost of the work might dwarf what you save.