Hello-
    I hope this is not too off topic. I'm having a new Trane hvac unit installed to replace my current system. I've also always considered a whole house fan; seems that people like them and allows the hvac to run less by cooling the attic. I'm curious though, in an upflow or in-attic blower/furnace installation, it would seem 'easy' to install a simple automated damper in the main supply trunk line which would allow the hvac blower in Fan mode to run right out into the attic, thereby pulling cool outside air through the house, into the return, and out into the attic. Am I nuts? why don't people do this? (or do they?) Since wwf's do pretty much what hvac systems are already designed for, it seems logical....

I did a search on whole house fans, but not much came up.

(Disclaimer - clearly I am not a professional!! just looking for professional advice)

Thanks-
    ed

Air conditioners are also designed to remove humidity. How can you maintain a reasonable humidity level if you're pulling moist air into the house overnight when it's cooler outside?

It takes at least a day of cooling to dehumidify a home properly - if the dewpoint is like 68 or 70 degrees, it's difficult to pull the air (passing over coil) temperature down by 15 - 20 degrees.

Warning – this is not coming from a pro, so take it with a grain of salt.

Another home owner here, non-pro. Maybe this would void the HVAC warranty???

Aside from that, check the CFMs that whole house fans pull and compare that to the CFMs of the HVAC blower, there is no comparison.
    Al

I should have thought of that! It could be done very easy! You will not be able to seal the damper off 100% and condensation would be a problem! Id go with 100% outside air through the return and have your damper's their. Then just open a window are two.

Why do we always omit location?