Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234
Results 40 to 45 of 45
  1. #40
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Waterloo N.Y.
    Posts
    1,960
    Don't overfill the oil! If the system calls for 8 oz. total, don't just add the 8 in. The evap usually counts for 1 oz., The accumulator 1 oz. and the condenser 1 or 2. If you add to much you can destroy the compressor. The compressor does not want to pump liquid. Measure any oil that comes out of the old compressor. I farmed out an evap changeout at a shop and the dummy put the full oil charge into the evap. The compressor was clanging and banging like a Model A
    There's TREACHERY AFOOT!!!

  2. #41
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Citrus County, Florida
    Posts
    1,508
    If there is an overcharge of oil, there will be less room for refrigerant. This is a condition a lot od people forget. If you flushed the entire system once and are now replacing just the compressor, the previously stated method of measuring the oil in the compressor is the correct method.
    Doug

  3. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,249
    There is often confusion about compressor oil and system oil.

    If Everco is telling you that the new compressor takes 6 oz of oil, then that's what it should get. Some compressors take far less. They realize there is some oil in the other components. In fact, if you add other components like hoses or a condenser, some oil should be added to them, as well. A large condenser, such as in a Suburban, for example, used to get two oz of oil. Bear in mind that oil LEFT your system with the old condenser and accumulator.

    If you can find a value for Total system oil, then that might be helpful. Also, bear in mind that others may have replaced components previously, and not added oil.

    If you have questions, I believe Everco still has a tech hotline. They are very knowledgeable about their business.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  4. #43
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Middle of Florida
    Posts
    2,159
    I lost track has this guy put in a new Evap?
    If common sense is so common how come so few of us have it!

  5. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,249
    Quote Originally Posted by secorp View Post
    I lost track has this guy put in a new Evap?
    No, just a condenser. He was advised that evap may be an issue.

    I suggested he get some refrigerant in there and use an electronic leak detector at the evap drain.

    He knows that will be a big job.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  6. #45
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Silver Spring, Md
    Posts
    19
    Hi, sorry I've been missing in action. I ended up not being able to do this at home and had to find an AC plug I could use. I had trouble with the gauge set I bought. It being an R134a set I didn't realize that the valves on the ends of the hoses were open when "in". Wasted time is all. Vacuumed system with good pump. Also had 30lb bottle of 134 on scale. I somehow had bought the right #of hoses and adapters to have everything hooked up at once. System only took a little over one pound of liquid on the high side. But I had no trouble putting the rest of the charge in the low side. In fact it took the charge a little too fast and I wasn't watching as the scale indicated I had over charged the system. I tried to let some gas out. It ran OK. Let out some more gas the next day and it ran better but was so hard to pump that I figured I still hadn't let out enough. Two weeks later, because the gas mileage on my car was so bad, I finally let out a bit more of gas and now, all seems well. It's not been very hot lately and I don't know what I'll get when the temp nears 100 but the pressures I'm currently getting are 215/24. These don't make sense to me but I'm sure they say something to a pro.

    Thanks for all the help. If these pressure readings are too far off for some reason I'll have to completely empty the system I think to put a know amount in. I'm trying to avoid doing that but it can be done. I know that the next time I'll be paying better attention.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event