Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Heat in Summer?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    74
    I just had my baseboard heating extended into my new addition - can I turn up the heat now (in the summer) to see if it works properly? I know there is a problem with opening the A/C in the cold - but didn't know if there is a problem for baseboard heating in the summer. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,906
    Go ahead, shouldnt be a problem.
    " Kill a Commie for Mommy! "

    - Colonel David Hackworth (1930-2005), Korean War Vet

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    74

    Help -

    Put on a new addition over house (650 sq feet) to existing 2,250 sq feet house. Does all that extra baseboard heat push the existing boiler to its limits? I turned it on so that I can test it before I made my last payment and after an hour, I barely felt any heat on the baseboard heating pipe (on scale of 1 to 10, it was a 1). The temp may have gone up one degree. I was feeling bare pipe at some points and didn't feel a thing. After I turned it on, the boiler didn't fire (in the dark basement, I can usually see a flame and noise from the boiler when its going).

    Was this installed incorrectly or is the boiler going to not operate well with that extra pipework? Should I not make the last payment? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,898
    Might have air in the pipes.

    Just call the installing contractor, and inform him that it didn't heat. He'll probaly take care of it, as soon as he can.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,996
    Check the rest of the system also. If piping was added there's probably air in the whole system. Every foot of babseboard puts out about 500 BTU of heat, you've probably added a few thousand BTU load to the boiler. No big deal, it's just run longer. Maybe in extreme cold weather, you might run a little short but many boilers are usually oversized for the house anyway. I hope you got the room well insulated, that's the biggest factor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4,392

    Re: Help -

    Originally posted by mxylplik2
    After I turned it on, the boiler didn't fire (in the dark basement, I can usually see a flame and noise from the boiler when its going).

    Was this installed incorrectly or is the boiler going to not operate well with that extra pipework? Should I not make the last payment? Thanks.
    to do the work, they probably had to drain the boiler. this means they probably turned off the power, extinguished the pilot light or both. check to make sure the power is on to the boiler and the pilot is lit if your boiler has one.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    74
    Okay - outside temp around 53, I tried turning on the baseboard heat today (2 zones, upstairs/downstairs). I turned on the upstairs stat, heard some water sounds in the baseboard pipes in the upstairs bedroom. Went downstairs - didn't see the fire under the boiler as I ususally do (HydroTherm brand). Then I turn on the stat in the downstairs - same thing - no fire under the boiler. Hear like a water trickling sound in the boiler - copper pipes above the boiler are not warm at all. The gas switches in the wall by the stairs and by the boiler are in the "on" position.

    I just spent some big bucks installing a new Carrier Infinity A/C system - hope I don't have to spend big bucks replacing the boiler! Please help. Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    2,666
    Call the installer and have him make it right. You shouldn't need a new boiler.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    1,996
    Your circulators are probably comming on, That's the sound you hear.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    74
    I understand - circulators on - but boiler not firing up. Someone asked if I had a pilot light or if it is autoignition - what's the diff and what should I do in either situation? Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Rapid City, SD
    Posts
    7,415
    Auto ignition lights the burners itself (like the new stoves that don't have a standing pilot light). If it's older most likely it has standing pilot. If so, and it's not lit, you need to light it. But if you feel uncomfortable lighting the pilot call the company back asap. Tell them you want it checked out and they can show you how to light the pilot safely.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    CHICAGO SUBURBS
    Posts
    464
    I don't understand why you don't call the guy that did the work. I wish you were my customer because people call me when the problem has nothing to do with my work.You might be trying to be nice and not bother him, but if it worked before he messed with it and now it does not,then it is his job to make good on it.
    Some people swear by me and some at me

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    74
    Tim Fox,

    I will - I was just trying to be a little resourceful before calling the guy back. I certainly don't want him to come back and light the pilot when I could have done it in 5 minutes and with 30 minutes of help from you guys on the web.

    I actually lit the pilot and then turned on the 2 stats but the boiler didn't fire up like it used to. So I guess I'm done and I need to call the plumber guy that my GC hired when my addition was going up. Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event