Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 14 to 26 of 40
  1. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,540
    Quote Originally Posted by jjrr007 View Post
    * If you have a measurable amount of amps, you should have volts and that should give me some idea if the blower is getting power.

    * Yes, there is no positive volts in AC- I meant the black wire. (I had been working with DC often in my previous trade). It doesn't matter.

    * I have seen many situations where the blower is attached to the transformer. It is connected on the line side at the transformer and there may be a wire between.
    Might I make yet another suggestion...



    Say what you mean and mean what you say.

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    84
    JPSmith,

    Your point is well made. I am clear that my original post could have been more exact. The question itself is clear and all of the information needed to answer it was present:

    Quote Originally Posted by jjrr007 View Post
    I wanted to use an ammeter to see if the blower is receiving volts. My thought is that if the blower is trying to start, I should receive a reading on my ammeter. How much of a reading would I get on a 1/3 (120 or 240 volts) blower reading if the blower was trying to start?

    I tried to clarify the other points of my post, but you keep on bringing up the flaws My hope was that this question would not only help me, but help others on this forum.

    In either case (I agree), I will be sure to spend the time and write exact questions. Also, I will apply for the Pro Membership and ask the questions there. Does that work?
    Last edited by jjrr007; 05-08-2011 at 05:07 PM. Reason: grammar

  3. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Western PA
    Posts
    25,540
    You can take my comments personally and get mad at me or you can take them to heart and grow as a technician from them.

    Your call.


  4. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,228
    Don't take JP's advice (or mine) as mean or negative.

    A lot of guys come through here and need help in one way or another. Good communication is a hallmark of a good tech, and you will see that here.

    When you have Pro membership you can read the articles on electricity and troubleshooting. Two are mine. Electricity comes up a LOT here. So, we have many opportunities to learn.

    Once again, welcome. You will like the learning.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  5. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    7,700
    I have trouble verbally communicating.

    I can write very well..... but sometimes when talking I say the opposite of what I mean to say... its hard to explain.

    I think its where Im always thinking about stuff.....I let a lot eat at me and I worry about a lot of senseless things that dont matter......So I think.... that I dont spend enough time thinking about what I am going to say and end up letting stuff get out backwards.... A lot of my yes and no answers are correct....but in the way I am thinking about the situation......

    But it could be something completely different....some kind of quirk in the old noggin...... thinking faster than those around me......in a slightly different time.....another dimension.....but not completely......sort of halfway in.....or not quite half way in.......

    I think the original poster should try and clarify his question here....
    YOU SHALL REAP WHAT YOU HAVE _______ SOWN

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Southeastern Pa
    Posts
    18,228
    Quote Originally Posted by corny View Post
    I have trouble verbally communicating.

    I can write very well..... but sometimes when talking I say the opposite of what I mean to say... its hard to explain.

    I think its where Im always thinking about stuff.....I let a lot eat at me and I worry about a lot of senseless things that dont matter......So I think.... that I dont spend enough time thinking about what I am going to say and end up letting stuff get out backwards.... A lot of my yes and no answers are correct....but in the way I am thinking about the situation......

    But it could be something completely different....some kind of quirk in the old noggin...... thinking faster than those around me......in a slightly different time.....another dimension.....but not completely......sort of halfway in.....or not quite half way in.......

    I think the original poster should try and clarify his question here....
    Could be a condition known as "flight of ideas," and maybe some verbal dyslexia.
    [Avatar photo from a Florida training accident. Everyone walked away.]
    2 Tim 3:16-17

    RSES CMS, HVAC Electrical Specialist

    AOP Forum Rules:







  7. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    84
    Thanks Timebuilder. You answered my question earlier. If the blower is locked (or not responding), then I would not measure amps. I forgot about this. Amps can be measured when testing under a load. So this won't work. It was beneficial to ask. Also, I will be more clear on my posts.

  8. #21
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,295
    Yes, if the rotor was locked you would experience LRA (locked rotor amps). The LRA of a typical motor is 5 to 8 times its FLA (full load amps)

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    84
    Interesting. ZeroTolerance. Other than a situation of the blower being over heated, do you think this an OK (would work) way to test if the blower is getting electricity?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,295
    I wouldn't say it was the best test, as checking the voltage is ideal in this situation.

    Getting out your test leads and finding a good place to set your multimeter where you can read it is sometimes frustrating. I agree

    All Multimeters need magnetic backs so you can stick them to the unit you are working on

  11. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    84
    I agree. It's not the best test. Sometimes, testing the voltage to the blower can involve testing the voltage in spots that are hard to get your leads in.

    Recently, I was testing voltage on a 240 volt blower in an attic. The electricty arced between my leads. The sound startled me; my latern light went through the ceiling tiles. If I can avoid this from happening in the future by using my ammeter for some situations like this, I prefer this test.
    Last edited by jjrr007; 05-09-2011 at 12:53 PM. Reason: grammar

  12. #25
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,295
    Only way you will get an amperage reading is if the windings are open and grounded out, partially grounded out, or arcing windings on 3-phase motors and some single phase motors that are multitaps or use a capacitor. Typically, if the windings are completely grounded out you will throw a breaker. You can also typically tell if the motor is bad by the play and spin in the motor shaft.

  13. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    84
    So far, the only situation I can think of that this wouldn't work is if the blower is over heated. What other situations can you think of (this technique would not work)? Would the amperage be measurable using one wrap around the ammeter? Thanks again.
    Last edited by jjrr007; 05-09-2011 at 01:05 PM. Reason: grammar

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event