Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 24

Thread: Help please!!

  1. #1
    I have a Trane XL1200 that's 10 years old. The compresser is trying to kick on but is unsucessful. The fan is running but the unit isn't cooling. I'm no electrician, so I'm sort of ignorant to how it works. It sounds to me like it might be low of freon, but doesn't being low of freon mean I have a leak?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago, N/W burbs
    Posts
    8,004
    yes, you have a leak.
    R2B4BTU

  3. #3
    Thanks Otto,
    After 10 yrs. of no problems, what would cause a leak? And, how long does a compresser normaly last?

  4. #4
    Originally posted by otto
    yes, you have a leak.
    Otto means fluid is leaking out of your brain.
    Shut the thing off and call someone, and go see your doctor for an MRI.
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me! ©

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Chicago, N/W burbs
    Posts
    8,004
    Those Trane compressors last a good long time. Could be a bad start capacitor, potential relay or burnt wire terminals. If you're not too sure then it may be time to call in a technician.

    Nothing really "causes" a leak, they just happen.
    R2B4BTU

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Colorado flatland native
    Posts
    15,067

    Also could be off on thermal.

    Either way, call the man Aunt Bee or be prepared to buy a new one after you "F" this one up.
    My doctor gave me six months to live, but when I couldn't pay the bill he gave me six months more.
    Walter Matthau

  7. #7
    I think he left, he is outside getting electrocuted as we speak. On the bright side, it might stop the brain leak.
    Hey cockroach, don't bug me! ©

    www.AskTheDiceman.com

    www.TheColdConspiracy.com

    www.Pennwood-HVAC.Com

    Bring Em Home....

  8. #8
    Called a Tech, he came out and replaced a capacitor and it's running like a top. $45.00, I'm in the wrong buisness.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,000
    Originally posted by brassmonkey15
    Called a Tech, he came out and replaced a capacitor and it's running like a top. $45.00, I'm in the wrong buisness.
    $45.00 at that price he won't be in business for very long, so no you are better to stay were your at than try and make it in this business selling capicators at $45.00, maybe some just live in their trucks with no overhead but food and gas.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,333
    45.00 for the part and labor? thats not right.

  11. #11
    I guess I forgot to mention that he is a good friend of mine. He told me what it would cost if I had to call someone else.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Coffeepot, Ohio
    Posts
    275
    I was gonna say capacitor.
    If you can't push; pull... If you can't pull; GET OUT OF THE WAY!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Cincinnati
    Posts
    7,977
    Originally posted by hvaclmnop
    I was gonna say capacitor.
    No, I was gonna say it 1st. But I forgot how to spell it.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event