Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 42
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Hope you all can help me. I have a heat pump system (heat/ac) and everything is out, there's no display on the thermostat, the main breaker is not tripped. Its a Carrier system. I did have someone out about a week ago who told me to pull the fuses, right first, then left, did that but still doesn't work. Any help would be great thanks.
    Mary Ann

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    I don't know
    Posts
    2,929
    Post Likes
    Many t-stats are completely battery powered with no common or power stealing - change the batteries.

    Reset both breakers (air handler + heatpump) just in case something's locked out. Might as well change/clean the filter while you're at it.

    If it still doesn't work, call for service.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Batteries are fine, its a relativly new system. Its been freezing up because of constant running from the extremely hot and humid weather. I had a guy in last week who got it running right away, told me to pull the fuses and put them back....however, I'm not so sure this guy was on the up and up, he also said I need a new motor assy & module, told me I had to keep my ac on as low as it would go to keep the motor running all the time, well its a week later and its been cycling so thats not the problem, but froze up again today, water everywhere, I shut the ac down and then when I lost the display, no power to heat pump system at all, not tripped on main breaker and pulled the fuses at the unit itself. Any other help would be great.
    Thanks.
    Mary Ann

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    347
    Post Likes
    if you pulled the fuses at the a/c disconect outside it wont effect the t-tsat in any way. you might have a bad fuse at the furnace. or the furnace doors are not on corectly.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    That could be so, I don't know squat....just looking for a way to reset it now like the tech did last week, any ideas?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    347
    Post Likes
    bad moter and module? is this a varable speed blower? if you are iceing up i would check the air filter.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Yes its variable speed and I already changed the filter.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Just need to know how that guy I paid $50 to reset it, any ideas?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    347
    Post Likes
    if he said its both, he is probly gessing thats the problem. those are verry expensive parts. might not be the problem at all. the blower is adjustable for cfm. might be set to low. i would get another opinion on your problem. at any rate are you setting the tstat below 70 and then gowing down that low befor iceing up?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    347
    Post Likes
    try cycling all the breakers and switches at the air handler yuor tstat is not getting power.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    6,383
    Post Likes
    From the description you gave from the tech that was at your residence... you better seek another company!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    16
    Post Likes
    Yes he said that was the problem and he was quick, this was a midnight fix it guy I wasn't too happy to call but all I could get in the evening hours. He quoted me $Pricing Rules for the job, told me to keep the ac as low as we could stand it so it wouldn't cycle off, he said that was where the problem was, the motor assy. Well its been cycling on and off for the past week and we do keep the ac low and its extremely humid out so we've been running the damn thing like crazy. He did fix it quick and I want to know how he did that, I'm sure I can do and we can get some comfort tonite. Here's the Carrier model #FVANF003 if this helps. Thanks to all.
    Mary Ann

    [Edited by lusker on 08-05-2005 at 08:10 AM]

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    347
    Post Likes
    Originally posted by jultzya
    From the description you gave from the tech that was at your residence... you better seek another company!
    this is the best advice you will get. lots of companys have 24hr. service if you cant wait till tomorow.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor MagazineThe place where Electrical professionals meet.
Comfortech365 Virtual Event