Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 14

Thread: gas pack

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    cincinnati ohio
    Posts
    2,024
    I have a good friend in lancater south carolina that im helping over the phone to install a new gas/ac gas pack ! He had a new one icp 3 ton / 100k installed 3 yrs ago and it caught fire . The hvac company that looked at it said they never saw anything like it and the wiring needed to be replace at a cost of 1000 dollars . So I helped him over the phone and he bought a new rheem 3 ton ( 12 seer - gas combo ) Hes on natural gas . The first thing he told me that didnt sound right was he had to reduce the fitting coming off the return of the unit to a 14 so it would fit to his flex ! I havnt got into the return size with him or how many suppys and what size . He got his new unit installed this week and I havnt got into all the details about register and flex sizing yet . Since im in ohio im going to suggest he hires a hvac company to look over the install and check the gas pressure and make some recommdations on his ductwork . Who can give me an ideal of where to start with this project . Thanks in advance for all he help . BH
    My avatar is a picture of a Goodman Silencer .....These were commonly used in Goodman country ....Photos by hvac tech ( PaysonHVAC )

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,635
    1-you should have known the limitations of your friend!!!!!!!!

    2- your advise to get a local contractor involved is a little LATE!!!

    3- why didn`t you help him rewire it?
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    cincinnati ohio
    Posts
    2,024

    gas pack

    What are you talking about dandyme ? The contractor help is to make sure everything is ok with the new install so he doesnt have another problem ( and or fire ) . Gas packs are easy to install and I gave him advice on doing it himself . Since it was a replacement , Its real easy to change out , Even for a homeowner . Number 2 - The reason I didnt help him rewire the other unit is because 2 other hvac companys looked at it and figured once it caught fire ! They didnt want to be responsable if it happened again. ( im just guessing ) I really dont know why you posted such a negitive post ? Something wrong with my post that you dont like dandy ? Bh
    My avatar is a picture of a Goodman Silencer .....These were commonly used in Goodman country ....Photos by hvac tech ( PaysonHVAC )

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Camel City, NC
    Posts
    6,233

    County Mechanical Permit Dept.

    Since this work requires a mechanical inspection by state law I would contact them first. They can assist him from there. Look at the top of this page to search for contractors in your area.


    [Edited by selfemployed on 07-31-2005 at 08:14 AM]
    Be safe not fast. body parts don't grow back

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    cincinnati ohio
    Posts
    2,024

    gas pack

    Im looking for an hvac company to check the gas pressuse / temp rise and look at the ductwork for the proper sizing and installation . A permit for a mech inspection wont tel us what im looking for . But thanks for the advice . bh
    My avatar is a picture of a Goodman Silencer .....These were commonly used in Goodman country ....Photos by hvac tech ( PaysonHVAC )

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Camel City, NC
    Posts
    6,233

    contractor

    I edited my post to late. Look at the top of this page to find a contractor in your area.
    Be safe not fast. body parts don't grow back

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    SE Michigan
    Posts
    17,906
    The installation of the RTU may be fairly simple however, it should only be done by a licensed contractor or a tech working under the license. Their are several things to check and record such as operating pressures, amp draw, gas pressure, belt adjustment etc. If your friend made an insurance claim, Im sure that they would want to know the cause of the fire before a new unit was installed. I would as well. Good luck!
    " Kill a Commie for Mommy! "

    - Colonel David Hackworth (1930-2005), Korean War Vet

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    2,868
    You beat some local contractor out of this work and now you want help here and expect a local contractor to check it over. I get this all the time, My friend (300 miles away) got the unit for me and now it don't work come check it for me. I tell them to call their Friend (which is you) to fix it. Good Luck

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    cincinnati ohio
    Posts
    2,024

    gas pack

    There wasnt an insurance claim made on this job ! He went to one of the local supply houses and bought one . hey Trane guy , I suggest you go to the local supply house and get you cut from them ! ( LOL ) ( coolwhip ) Thats what were looking for ? I wouldnt mind making a service call in my area ( I mean , Isnt that what we do to make money ) and checking gas pressure duct size etc ..etc . Isnt this easy money ? Sure is in my area . ps Please dont be fooled by the number of my post .. Im NOT new here
    My avatar is a picture of a Goodman Silencer .....These were commonly used in Goodman country ....Photos by hvac tech ( PaysonHVAC )

  10. #10

    Hmm

    gotta love homemade hackery. bob, what's your profession? and why did you get your friend into this situation? don't expect a xmas card this year.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    2,868
    You feel like you did this friend a big favor and it will most likely cost him more in the end. So now we have a new unit installed by a homeowner with no idea why the first one burned up or the size of all the ductwork. Why do you think helping him in this way is better than hiring a local contractor to do this work that would warranty the system and make sure it was right before leaving?


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    cincinnati ohio
    Posts
    2,024

    gas pack

    What post are you people reading ? My friend unit is cooling great . No problems at all ! I thought I might find a good contractor on here that would like to make a few bucks doing a service call ! He does need the gas pressure checked ! Isnt that what you contractors do for a living ? What difference does it make who installed this unit ? He goin to write you a check for coming out and servicing the unit ! Dont you guys need the money ? lol..... Backtosippy ? How is this a hack job ? The unit is selfcontained - precharged from the factory .
    My avatar is a picture of a Goodman Silencer .....These were commonly used in Goodman country ....Photos by hvac tech ( PaysonHVAC )

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    2,868
    I'm sorry I didn't realize it was precharged at the factory. Im' sure it will work great. I think all my units will be ordered precharged from now on since thats all it takes for a good install.

    Sign up as a pro if you really are in the business.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event