student in need of help advice.---regarding Mitsubishi unit.

Hello, everyone, this is my first post to the form. I am posting because I am having some warranty servicing difficulty with my Mr.Slim. As well keep in mind that I am a med student (ie my name) so I have little understanding of hvac systems (although I got a good mark in physics-- so I reasonably understand electrical circuit diagrams).

My issues begin when I got my Mr.Slim unit. I was told that I would get 6 years parts and labor, and they even showed me an advertisement to prove it. The advertisement papers said clearly "Mitsubishi" 6 years parts and labor. Now, when there was a power surge in my area, something happened to my unit and it shut itself down (as per repair man -don't know if he is bs-ing). I called them in my warranty period and they basically said (both Mitsubishi and dealer) not our problem. You want service system shut downs are not included in the warranty $. Of course my dad is 75 and I did not want him to die in the heat so I took it up the backside. IT is noteworthy to say that the guy who is the distributor who I talked to to get assistance is a total asshat and will probably try to do something sneaky if I complain. Now my action plan is to complain to the Attorney general's office about Mitsubishi and their shady warranty practices. (I don't really blame the HVAC guys in this problem).

<<<<<<<<<<<SO MY QUESTION IS THE FOLLOWNG:>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

1. If in the future I have to get service for my unit is it possible to get it from a third party mitsubishi authorized hvac company without either regional distributor or Mitsubishi knowing about it? IE do all parts bought for out of warranty repairs have to be declared to the company distributor/manufacturer in regards to who is the end user (client) or what is the end client serial number if they are getting an out of warranty repair?

2. How hard is it to fix myself?