Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    around our company and u find yourself on the unemployment line. thats what happened to one of our plumbers this week.Apparently he started bragging to some of the other plumbers about calling the union hall.Well i guess he talked to the wrong person.He got 'laid off' due to lack of work. He had been with the company for 15 years.

I lost a job once when I was a sunroof installer when I was 18. There was a meeting to introduce us to what it was all about. One week later I was fired for something stupid while I was on vacation. How the hell do you get fired while on vacation ? I found out later it was to use me as an example.

that's horrible, what would happen if you sweated too much?

Originally posted by btj steamfitter / ref
    that's horrible, what would happen if you sweated too much?
    That's funny!

We once had an issue about safety and health that the company wasn't listening too. So we drew straws to see who would go to OSHA and file a complaint anonomously. Ha! I got the shortest straw and along with the next shortest straw drawer, we went down and did the paper work. Issue got handled only we found out that after ten days this employer could open the file and see who signed it. Consequently, I got **** for work till I walked into his office after Lunch one day and said, "Tom, I would be a bigger ******* than you are if I stayed here and then I walked out."

Best decision I ever made, but it was a month too late.

Hmm MikeJ

I can't really see anyone walking out of a job before he has another one lined up. Plan your moves. I can see it now, Honey, I quit my job! She says Why? I said, they are being mean to us. Is the rent paid yet? How about some luvin honey? Why not?..... The unions did their jobs, I agree. More money, more benifits, more safety, and insurance. You'll be a happier man if you learn something new about your job everyday. Roy