Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 14 to 23 of 23

Thread: Need to upsize?

  1. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    962
    there are even people that do not like air-conditioning

  2. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,271

    Question Evaluation

    Originally posted by Chill
    there are even people that do not like air-conditioning
    or MORE importantly ... A/C Techs





    L.O.L.
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  3. #16
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    255
    youwanna know the part that really sucks. Let's just say that I need to upsize the coil and outdoor unit. My furnace probably can't move enough air to keep the upsized coil from freezing so I'm gonna be into the whole thing for a new coil, outdoor unit, furnace and lineset. Like I said earlier, I doinstall so my three favorite words are gonna be "scratch and dent." My Tech should be here shortly. I'm pretty anxious to see what he has to say.

  4. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    340
    Originally posted by chrashley
    Let's just say that I need to upsize the coil and outdoor unit. My furnace probably can't move enough air to keep the upsized coil from freezing so I'm gonna be into the whole thing for a new coil, outdoor unit, furnace and lineset.
    And duct work, too.

    Do yourself a favor. Don't guess what size system you need. Start with a heat gain / loss calculation. If your contractor doesn't know how to do one or says they are not necessary, choose another contractor.

  5. #18
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    255
    Well as I suspected my tech suggested I replace everything. I have two real problems that he diagnosed for me. The first is a cracked heat exchanger. On my 15 year old clunker of a furnace It's pretty much a no brainer to replace that. Plus The thing is such an antique that it's only rated at approximately 60% efficient. My outdoor unit has had this crazy hum ever since we moved in. My head pressure was all over the place from 250-500+. It coincided with the hum. When the pressure went up, the hum came. Then it went away when the pressure went down. So we concluded that I have some debris in my system and the compressor is having to fight it through and thus not able to cool my house efficiently. It's about a grand to fix this problem or get a new unit for less than a quarter that price.

    So I think I'm gonna do a manual J from the site here and put in a heat pump for my outdoor unit plus a new furnace.

    Hey here's a question. Why do they call a heat pump "Duel Fuel."

    Thanks for the help guys.

  6. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    340
    Originally posted by chrashley
    It's about a grand to fix this problem or get a new unit for less than a quarter that price.
    That doesn't sound quite right!
    Originally posted by chrashley
    Why do they call a heat pump "Duel Fuel.
    They don't. A dual fuel system means that the furnace can use two kinds of fuel.... in your case I would expect a heat pump plus natural gas, or propane.

  7. #20
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    255
    The heat pump itself is just electric though...correct? So if my furnace is natural gas what is the other "fuel?"

  8. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Dual fuel is a bit of a misnomer,it's the heat pump down to X,then the gas furnace at that temperature and any thing colder.No strip heat back up,heat pumop shuts down,and gas furnace runs.Could protection in a chaging price market of electric versus gas costs.Plus it's very comfortable.

    Electric and gas are the "fuels".

  9. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    19
    Did I read your post correctly? Did you say you install HVAC systems for a living? Did you have a tech from your company look at your system?

  10. #23
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    255
    Originally posted by bkliewer
    Did I read your post correctly? Did you say you install HVAC systems for a living? Did you have a tech from your company look at your system?
    Yes I have installed for quite some time. Also, Yes I had a Service Tech. from my company come out and look at it. Why do you ask?

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event