Exclamation

I'm new to the trade, and am interested the proper steps to change out a condensing unit that is old, or not working. Where I work we remove the old unit and throw in the new one as fast as possible. We do recover the r22 if it hadn't leaked all out but the guys don't do anything else. I feel there should be more to it. Maybe to make sure the rest of the unit is working? Please let me know step by step the proper way to do this.
    Thanks.

You really need to attend an HVAC school.

Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Are you in the trade?If so please apply to the Pro section,as detailed instructions shouldn't be in this section,for Diyers.

1. Do heat gain calc on the home.
    2. Get that size outdoor unit and matching indoor coil.
    3. Recover refrigerant as required by law.
    4. Install new equipment, new lineset is best even if old one is properly sized.
    5. Run vacuum pump, pull below 500 microns on your vacuum gauge. Make sure it holds 10 minutes.
    6. Start and check system using mfrs. charging chart. Set blower speed for no more than 400 CFM. Compare your measured static pressure with furnace blower chart.

You do have recovery machine, vacuum pump, micron gauge, magnehelic?

You know how to do a Manual J?

You were planning to install a matching evap?

You need to find a better place to work. You are learning some hideous techniques

Originally posted by BaldLoonie
    1. Do heat gain calc on the home.
    2. Get that size outdoor unit and matching indoor coil.
    3. Recover refrigerant as required by law.
    4. Install new equipment, new lineset is best even if old one is properly sized.
    5. Run vacuum pump, pull below 500 microns on your vacuum gauge. Make sure it holds 10 minutes.
    6. Start and check system using mfrs. charging chart. Set blower speed for no more than 400 CFM. Compare your measured static pressure with furnace blower chart.