Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Total newbie to AC systems. Where should I go for basic overview of issues, terms, ratings, etc? We are looking at putting AC into second floor addition currently under construction. Only window units currently. Should we put AC only in upstairs (bedrooms) or put in first floor as well. We don't use AC all that much, prefer open windows so won't need cadillac system. Neighbor suggested high velocity system. Worth it? Issues, comparisons with traditional? Heat is hot water radiators so no central air option. Basement is open ceiling and room for air handler but also attic space. Chicago suburbs. 1800SF cape cod house. Thanks!

High velocity systems are typically used for installs where you really can't run normal ductwork...like old houses where you don't want to tear out walls/put in soffits to hide the ducts. HV systems are typically more expensive too. Since you're under construction, you can run the ductwork for a non HV system now...no?

Yes, open walls

I can run the traditional ductwork now in the new construction in the second floor but the first floor is closed up. I could get to it, though from the basement below. I was wondering if the HV would be quieter or more efficient to offset any higher cost. Also, we are open to the possibility of installing AC only in the upstairs (new construction) and not messing with the cost of the downstairs. We can always use a window unit or 2 to supplement the upstairs. Comments?

HV is less efficient and probably not as quiet as a well designed standard system. Since cold air falls, few vents will be needed on the first floor. Often you can go down through 2nd floor closets with a few runs and the first floor will be fine. I would go with an attic system covering the 2nd floor and pop a couple to the first floor. I think you'll be fine.

Attic system