Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie

Hi I am new to this type of work, I am currently going to school. I often find myself lost in many of the basics that are required knowledge in HVAC. How long did it take any of you to master it? I am 22 years old and I know very little.

Master it , hardly. I'll never quit learning.

This is one industry that has so many facets that I doubt anyone has ever mastered all of it.

There are many intelligent and well-informed people that come here if you want to learn.

Unfortunately, I'm not one of them.

How many years experience do you have in this field?

It depends

It depends entirely on you...if you have a firm grasp of the obvious and the ability to learn from your mistakes things will go better.

From what I've seen, few, if any of the really experienced guys on this board would say they have completely mastered every aspect of this trade. The ones that swear they know absolutely everything don't usually know as much as they think.

BTW, welcome to the board. There's a wealth of information here.

I still find myself paying school fees at 36 years old. I learned this trade in the field from an older man who would if still doing this the same way would be called a hack. I would have to say I have learned a lot past the basics from this site, enough so to justify a few thank you notes.

Don't worry so much about everything you don't know, just be sure to try to learn something everyday and use what you have learned to help others. You'll get there.
    HVAC Contractor, Tyler Texas.

I have helped take duct work down and install some here and there. I do have a fear of getting shocked while servicing a unit I have noticed my hands shake bad while connecting wires. I guess the more you do it the less you will become fearless. Personally I feel overwhelmed taking the courses at school. I'm the kind of person who wants to jump in it on the job site and learn. To me I should learn quicker that way, instead of book knowledge.