Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Dehumification on the Texas Gulf Coast

I live in SE Texas on the Gulf of Mexico in a new 1600sf ICF home with a Trane 16i-3ton AC. Humidity has been running almost 70%. The ac apparently doesn't tun long enough to dehumidify properly. Outside humidity is 60-90%. I don't want portable dehumidifiers so am looking for a whole house unit. I am concerned about hooking up a whole house unit because the discharge air is so hot on the units I'm studying. Help.

Is you unit cycling at all. In theory a properly sized piece of equipment will run 100% of the time at design conditions and maintain design set-point.

At what ambient temperatures are you seeing these 80% indoor RH valves?

As far as the whole house dehumidifiers and high discharge air temperature, remember this. The airflow thru the dehumidifier is going to be in the neighborhood of 250 CFM while a 3 ton AC system for your area should be in the 1000 CFM range. So if you see a 100 discharge air temperature off of the dehumidifier when mixed with the 75 central system temperature you will only see a net gain of approx 5 to the central system airstream.

J
    Last edited by Jarreau; 04-06-2011 at 09:24 AM. Reason: typo

Quote Originally Posted by Mvanza View Post
    I live in SE Texas on the Gulf of Mexico in a new 1600sf ICF home with a Trane 16i-3ton AC. Humidity has been running almost 70%. The ac apparently doesn't tun long enough to dehumidify properly. Outside humidity is 60-90%. I don't want portable dehumidifiers so am looking for a whole house unit. I am concerned about hooking up a whole house unit because the discharge air is so hot on the units I'm studying. Help.
    Teddy Bear, our resident dehumidifier guru, will likely be along shortly to give you a full rundown on whole house dehumidification.