Thread: tech help

Question

I am a sheet metal apprentice with no service
    experience at all. My worst nightmare came true today ,
    walk in the door to a warmer than usual house. So I went
    out picked up R-22, pump, and gauges. " How hard can this really be? " Well obviously for me anyway pretty tough! I am ashamed to say I do have a CFC card and have no clue whatsoever. I plan on taking service classes when I become a journeyman but I have ways to go yet. Any way I tried to pull a vaccum and I only managed to lose oil out of the exhaust on the pump. I hooked up everything according to the diagram that came with the gauges then reversed that.
    Nothing worked! My company does not have a service division and after having a excuse to buy new toys I can no longer justify spending $150 on a tech coming out just to look. I have checked my filter I have cleaned my condenser. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am frustrated as all heck! Thank's

dont make things more complicated than they are. check filters . feel registers good flow coming out? are return airs free from obstructions? outside unit clean? coil draining properly? alot of easy things to check out first and foremost. ice on any lines? a dirty filter will usually promote a dirty a coil

To bad you dont live next door. I take care of the people on both sides of me. No charge.

did you try to pull vacuum on system with gas still in it???

what?

STOP!

Give more info and await answers before proceding. Then you may call a professional.

Torch

You don't know of anyone you can horse trade with? Service for a few plenums?

Sounds like you are going to be warm for a while...