Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 17

Thread: Foot in Mouth

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    102
    Not a real problem, "I HOPE!" but last night I replaced the contactor on the condensing unit for my neighbor. (Tempstar 3.5 ton, circa 1999) the compressor cycled, but the fan would not shut down on the CU.

    After I finished and had their system up and running again, I was have a beer or 12 with my neighbor at my home when I made comment that I had not had troubles with my CU (exact same one as his). about that time we walked into the house (needed more beer) and I noticed that it was 77 degrees on the t-stat, blower was working, went outside and CU was not running.

    Tripped breaker, damn and I was bragging on this Tempstar P.O.S. Reset breaker and started system, pulled cover off disconnect and check amp draw. 18.6 on both legs, Panel gives FLA of 18.7, so all is good.

    Just makes me wonder if I need to quit bragging on the quality or non-quality of equipment.

    Although I iwll be glad when this one dies so I will have an excuse to put a Carrier or Trane system in.

    Regards


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    344

    What are you thinking???

    From the pan into the fire...

    Heh-Heh

    Have a beer on me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    S.W. PA
    Posts
    3,298
    should have knocked on wood

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    102
    Still curious as to why that darn breaker tripped though,

    Hoping was a thermal trip. heat Index was over 100 yesterday here and is expected to be 109 degrees heat index today.

    I wish someone would tell the damn weatherman that its not August in Mississippi yet.


  5. #5
    Originally posted by biscuitnt
    Not a real problem, "I HOPE!" but last night I replaced the contactor on the condensing unit for my neighbor. (Tempstar 3.5 ton, circa 1999) the compressor cycled, but the fan would not shut down on the CU.
    Please tell me how this is happening!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    102
    Hmmmmm I give up... why?

  7. #7
    Bet I know...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    3,916
    Originally posted by control_noob
    Bet I know...
    Check to see where you put the common wire at. Just a hint.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    Is it just me ?

    But almost 19 amps sounds high for running amps.
    Must be under a good load.
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    68,753
    Well, more then once while rushing, i've put the fan wire on the line side of the contactor, thinking i was putting the cch wire on.

    Always curse myself out when i do it .
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,874
    usaully if you multiply the running amps by 5 or 6 .
    that would give a close expectation of the start amps

    18x5=90
    19x6=114

    maybe your breaker is getting weak.
    If you try to fail, and succeed.
    Which have you done ?



  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    San Luis Obispo County, CA
    Posts
    215
    Originally posted by biscuitnt

    Just makes me wonder if I need to quit bragging on the quality or non-quality of equipment.

    Although I iwll be glad when this one dies so I will have an excuse to put a Carrier or Trane system in.

    Regards

    Actually, don't you know that all mechanical equipment talks to each other? You put new parts in your neighbors unit, now yours wants some too. Sort of like replacing the condensor fan motor only to have the compressor fail a week later...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    102
    Originally posted by bb
    Originally posted by control_noob
    Bet I know...
    Check to see where you put the common wire at. Just a hint.
    I replaced the contactor on my neighbors unit, its perfectly fine.

    It was my unit that tripped the breaker when I was braggin on it never giving any trouble.

    Regards

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event