Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473

    Err 79 on Trane XL16i - Anyone got the code list?

    Hey guys. Been a while.
    Anyway my friend just told me that one of the XL16i's I installed last year in California has error code 79 on the display.

    I don't have the book and I don't work on residential anymore (or even out in the field) to be familiar with it.

    I tried to search the internet but no luck. I see err 80 is High Pressure Cut Out. Maybe this is LOW pressure?

    I wish I would have kept one of the manuals. :-/
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,423
    Quote Originally Posted by PaysonHVAC View Post
    Hey guys. Been a while.
    Anyway my friend just told me that one of the XL16i's I installed last year in California has error code 79 on the display.

    I don't have the book and I don't work on residential anymore (or even out in the field) to be familiar with it.

    I tried to search the internet but no luck. I see err 80 is High Pressure Cut Out. Maybe this is LOW pressure?

    I wish I would have kept one of the manuals. :-/
    Give me a minute.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    Update:
    Friend called and said they found fuse blown for OD unit.
    But they still want to know why it threw the code.
    I'm sure it has something to do with the communication error with the OD unit being DEAD.

    BTW, I said Trane XL19i, it's an American Standard,. Same difference.

    The units run all the time in the application they are used for.
    I guess maybe that's why the fuse blew after 8 months.
    Not much off cycle on these units.
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,423
    Low pressure cutout. Also does say if the power is interrupted to the outdoor unit it can throw the 79 code. seems like thats what happened.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Palm Beach,Fl.
    Posts
    990
    Your guess is correct. Low charge fault. A loss of power at the condenser will throw a 91 comm error. There is likely still a charge issue. Was it a high voltage fuse?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    Would that code occur somehow if the OD unit loses high voltage?

    I've only seen these units once. When I put them in last year. HA HA!

    From what I hear I think it's back online. Hope it's NOT leaking for some reason now.
    This place is 5 hours away in Moreno Valley/Riverside.

    I guess it's 95 degrees today which is hot for there.
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    4,423
    Quote Originally Posted by PaysonHVAC View Post
    Would that code occur somehow if the OD unit loses high voltage?

    .
    Yes it can show the 79 code as the as the low pressure switch will not be discovered on the communication bus.
    Make your expertise uniquely valuable.

    Make your influence uniquely far-reaching.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    Quote Originally Posted by SoFlaDave View Post
    Your guess is correct. Low charge fault. A loss of power at the condenser will throw a 91 comm error. There is likely still a charge issue. Was it a high voltage fuse?
    Yes, a high voltage fuse.
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    It took me a few minutes to find the pictures.
    Here's what I installed last year.
    It's at a warehouse, place.
    Building is a lease so he will take his units when he moves.







    This was the ONLY system I had used the "Communicating" t-stats on.
    Actually two of the three are. Had to use standard Pro 8000 on the third system because communicating was unavailable on that one.
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    I posted about this last year I think.
    Was a LONG 3 day weekend to install these.

    I did pressure check them overnight and no leaks in my welds.

    We did everything. Electrical, duct work and all. NOTHING was there.

    Had to live on MONSTER energy drinks that weekend.
    True Heavy Metal Geek

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    5,473
    Quote Originally Posted by jimj View Post
    Yes it can show the 79 code as the as the low pressure switch will not be discovered on the communication bus.
    Cool. Then let's hope that's all that was wrong!

    These cool a room that have High Pressure Sodium lighting on a timer.
    When those run (all night) these units run 24/7 cycling between the 1st and 2nd stage, mostly 2nd stage.

    I purposely stayed AWAY form the XL19i twin compressor style because I didn't feel like driving 5 hours one way to replace blown start capacitors!

    I saw a higher failure rate in the XL19i's in Phoenix. No way I was going to use them on a system that I knew would by HARD STARTING those compressors all day and all night. The unloading Scroll seemed to be the way to go for me.
    True Heavy Metal Geek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event