Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    22
    I am having TXV's installed on my two AC units tomorrow. Would it be standard practice to have the Filter Dryers replaced when they are doing this kind of work?

    Both units/systems are brand new, and have only been up and running for about 2 months (don't know if that would be a factor in replace/reuses of Filter Dryers).

    Just want to know so I can make sure it is done right.


    Thanks..


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    483
    Yes, any time the system is opened for service or repairs the filter/dryers are replaced. Also make sure they pull a vacuum on the lineset and use a micron gauge.

  3. #3
    Anytime a sealed system is opened to the atmosphere, the filter/driers should be changed!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    172
    Agree with both other posters, change the filter driers. Now just kinda curious, are we changing from fixed orfice to TXV or swapping out the original TXV's for a different size or something? Sounds like it might be a good story here?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    22
    dnt:

    Nothing too interesting. I have two units, one for upstairs one for downstairs. They connected the condensers up backwards on the furnaces (upstairs on downstairs, downstairs on upstairs). So while they are at it I requested that they convert me from fixed orfice to TXV. They have to open the system anyway, and my question would have been more generic but I didn't want to go into too much detail. Had they just been moving the AC units I would have asked if opening the system would require new Filter Dryers.

    Anyway....New house, HVAC guys own me a "free system turn up" (part of the deal they have with the builder), and they connected the condensers to the wrong inside units.

    I asked if while they were out basically redoing each system if they would install TXV's, and they said sure no problem (good thing is because of the mix up they are not charging me labor, just parts).

    So they are going to get here first thing in the morning to evac, install the TXV's, check for leaks, pull vac and recharge. Once they are up and running and properly charged they are going to spend "several hours" balancing all of the dampers on the duct work. When they installed the duct work they put manual dampers on each duct in the basement. It is all metal duct, units are in the basement. They do this in all of the houses that my builder does...besides the mixup with the condensers I have been very impressed.

    The mixup was a understandable mistake. I special requested the dual zone system, builder usually (I mean always) does a single system for both up and down. I had to jump through hoops to upgrade. My house has more sqftage upstairs then down, and most houses have less upstairs. So the theory goes that the install crew put the bigger unit on the first floor because out of instinct. The guys that did the duct work was not the same as the guy that installed the AC outside the house. The linesets were labeled 1st flr and 2nd flr (no indication of what size should be connected where) and he assumed...and you know what happens when you assume.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    172
    Makes perfect sense, thanks for posting back. Glad to hear that you found someone that takes care of the customer, you should have no problem getting these guys to swapout the filter driers. All metal duct with takeoff balancing dampers now thats impressive and rare nowadays. Enjoy your new system it sounds great.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    697
    You have made a wise decision.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event