Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Wet Trane

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Hmm

    I have a Trane gas fired furnace that received a soaking when the Coil drain clogged, and ran water all over the White rogers module. The original board is a 50A50-406, I replaced with the replacement 505A55-288-05 recommended by White Rodgers. When plugging in the new board it goes to a 5 flash code, starts the exhst blower, the circ. blower.
    It also does this with nothing but the molex plugged in.
    I have 24v in but nthing at r and c. Tried another board, no go. Could someone enlighten me? Is perhaps the wiring harness saturated, did leave a fan on it all night.
    Thanks, BSD59

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    16,111
    Could be maybe the limit in the blower got soaked and is the problem could be many things.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    wet trane

    Yeah, that is what I thought. Took limits out of the equation and still get the same result. Does not appear that the plug melted down but with all stat wires unhooked, four prong inducer unplugged and all blower wires unplugged, still get the code message. Pretty well narrows it down, I would think, yet my client is still without an a.c. This one is certainly working on my pride.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    207
    I hear ya, that stinks.. What is the 5 flash code say the problem is?? There are other limits besides the high temp in the blower section. You said you left the blower running, but no 24vac on R and C, how did you run the blower? I cant picture that exact trane furnace in my head, so I am just asking. Is it possible the replacement board requires a wiring change, maybe a jumber? Some replacement boards, even though there are oem have small internal changes, it may have come w/ a sheet saying if your replacing it with this or this, install this jumper etc etc, just asking, it has happened to me more then once.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,914
    molnex plug wet
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    2,635
    ultra beat me to the punch. I've replaced a WR board recently with the direct replacement. But the direct replacement required a small wiring change anyway. But of course I'm sure that's not the problem. All that would have required is for you to of read the directions. And everyone reads directions, don't they? :^)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    wet trane

    The directions do not list the 406 version on their direction sheet, but the white rodgers web page does.
    And yes, I always read directions.......yeah right. Thank you guys for giving me some stuff to try. The 5 code indicates a roll out switch problem, like I said the limits have all been bypassed. Twilli, I think you are on to something. BSD59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event