Basic HVAC Tools for a Newbie
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi everyone. I'm new to the world of HVAC. I have been a Aircraft tech for the last 10 yrs and would like to start HVAC on the side (the aircraft world is very unstable and would like to learn another trade to fall back on).
    I have a good understanding of HVAC theory and plan on taking some college level courses this fall. Can you knowledgable people help me put together some tools that I will need? I have a good Fluke multimeter already along with all the general tools any tradesmen would have but I'm not sure what kind of HVAC specific tools I will need.
    The first one that comes to mind is the AC manifold gauge. I see that there are lot's of different types specific to an aplication, (automobiles, central AC etc). I plan on working on home central AC and appliances. Are there diff. manifolds used on home refridgerators as well as central AC or can you buy a manifold that can be used on both?
    Secondly, I've read a lot of info on brazing and soldering. I understand that both are suitable depending on the application but I was wonder what equipment would I need to do either of them.
    Any help would be appreciated, I'm new so if my questions sound rediculous, please accept my appology.

Even if you go to take some classes, your not going to be thrown in a truck and let loose.

You'll have a trial period that could last 1 or more yrs.
    so getting a set of torches is not something to focus on.

Get seperate gauges for a/c & refrigeration. They are different refrigerants, so I'd keep things meant for what they are for.

you'll need hand tools for ductwork.
    No-Matter your level of knowlegde on aircraft, you'll need to prove yourself in this field.
    Just like if I had 17 yrs in HVAC and wanted to learn aircraft repair.

This field has been very good to me,
    Like anything else in the work place, you get out what you put in.

Good luck,
    If you try to fail, and succeed.