Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 21
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    I just moved into a new place and installed a digital thermostat, but I don't know much about Air conditioners and would like to make sure I did it correctly. My AC is a Goodman model CPH36-1FB. The previous thermostat was a Honeywell heat pump thermostat. The connections were as follows:

    X - Blue
    W2 - White
    R - Red
    O - Orange
    G - Green
    Y - Yellow
    E - Pink

    I made the following connections to my new Ritetemp digital thermostat:

    C - Blue
    W - White
    RC - Red, jumped to RH
    O - Orange
    G - Green
    Y - Yellow
    Pink Taped Off

    It seems to be working fine but I just want to make sure. Here is how all the wires are run from the large wires on the condenser:

    white - to AC and thermo
    Red - to AC and thermo
    Blue - to AC and thermo
    Green - to thermo
    Brown - Pink wire to thermo (not hooked up)

    And from AC to thermo:

    Orange
    Yellow


    Thanks so much for your help!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,704
    Not familair with ritetemp stats, but does it say it works on s stage heat pumps?

    If not, you won't like no heat this winter.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    Did you mean 2 stage? Is my AC a 2 stage?

    I don't think it works on 2 stages. What does this mean? The AC and heat seems to work fine currently. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,704
    I'm pretty sure the cph, is a heat pump, and thats is a heat pump stat you took off.

    Or, do you have a gas, or oil furnace, or boiler for heat?

    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    No gas, oil, or boiler. Someone else said that the way I have it hooked up will only run off auxiliary heat in the winter and my bill will be huge. They said I need a 2 stage thermostat. Sound right? Thanks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,704
    Yes, thats what you need.

    A t8411r is a good simple digital stat.

    The vision pro t8321 is a much much better stat.

    But the down graded version that box stores sell don't have all the good funtions.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    On the side of my AC it says "Central Air conditioner" and " Phases: 1" What does the phases mean?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,704
    60 hz. 1 phase.

    Means single phase electric, the standard for electric for most residencial houses.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Serving Northern Va and surounding area
    Posts
    38
    I think you should pick up the yellow book and call a pro homeowners doing work without the knowledge can cus major problems that why we are trained.

    TRYING TO SPEND A NICKLE TO SAVE A DOLLAR COULD COST YOU $2.OO IN THE LONG RUN

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    6
    Single phase electric? So is it a heat pump? And how many stages? Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL.
    Posts
    4,313
    You are so lost....

    Even if we were able to provide you with the appropriate roadmap you still wouldn't be able to read it.

    Do yourself a favor & call a pro before you cause anymore damage. BTW, I wouldn't doubt if your second-stage heat is coming on with your first-stage cool.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Monmouth Junction-NJ-USA
    Posts
    5,996
    Why did we go to school??????
    Oh, so we could pay to learn and pass on the knowledge free to HO and not make any money..... I got it now.
    If you really know how it works, you have an execellent chance of fixin' er up!

    Tomorrow is promised to no one...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    2,597
    with a heat pump you generally have 2 stages of heat, the heat pump itself and auxilliary heat (electric strips).

    your first stage will only bring on the outdoor unit, the second stage will bring on the electric heat strips to compensate for the additional load in colder temps.

    sounds like what you put in cant handle the second stage. your a/c will work fine but come winter you will be using straight electric strips, very costly.

    as the others have mentioned, have a pro come out and service the system and put in the proper stat.

    good luck.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event