Newbie poster with a couple of questions

Hybrid View

To any other posters on here, I am a newbie poster and have a couple of questions that I hope you can provide me with answers to. About two years ago, my parents got a Tempstar air conditioning unit installed in their home. It is cooling okay, but the outdoor unit is kind of weather beaten already. Anyway, one of the questions I wanted to ask is does anyone know where I could get a replacement name tag for the outdoor unit. I think it fell off last fall when the house was getting pressure washed prior to getting painted. The model number is TCA436. Also, does anyone have any experience with fin combs? If so, do they work well? Several of the fins are bent in on the unit and I wanted to try to straighten them out if possible. Finally, is there any product out there that could possibly remove rust from the unit? The fan is a little bit rusted. The area underneath the fan is also a little bit rusted. I know these questions might be a little stupid, but if anyone could help me out, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

The only way to do fin combs right is to know how many fins per inch your particular coil has. Otherwise, you'll crush more fins than you'll straighten out. Stick a ruler lengthwise across the coil and count how many fins land within an inch, then get a comb with that fins per inch count. Even then you have to be careful not to bend or crush fins.

As for the other items, to me a condenser box is just gonna look weatherbeaten after time. It's just the lay of the land. What's more important is to keep the coils clean and don't let incompetent boobs work on it. If you do you'll get a sparkly new box a lot quicker than an old beater that was never polished but was maintained well, mechanically.
    • Electricity makes refrigeration happen.
    • Refrigeration makes the HVAC psychrometric process happen.