Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 25

Thread: R12 mix to R22

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4
    Can I use R12 mix to R22 system. I have some R12 left in my basement so I want to use R12 charge to my home A/C system.
    Thank you for any reply.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    634
    NO WAY this must be a trick question.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    1,333
    what are you doing with freon and you dont know this

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    64

    Cool

    where did u find R-12 and y u want to mix it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    burlington county n.j.
    Posts
    9,743
    NO NO NO NO NO NO NO put the R12 down and step away from the unit.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Florida's space coast
    Posts
    2,538
    U R NUTS.

    On second thought go ahead and top off your R22 system with R12.

    On third thought forget my second thought.
    We've been doing so much,for so long,with so little, that now we can do almost anything, with nothing at all.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    125

    Arrow

    They are two completely different refrigerants,won't mix at all.

    But when it blows your system have the decency to tell the service tech what ya did.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4
    I have a R12 in basement for long time. I just use it few time for my old car (but the car was gone for ten years) so I think it has a lot left. But I don't know where I can get R22 on the market. I mean a small bottom. I don't want to buy 30 lb again. BTW it need CAD $80 for the recharge the R22. What can I do or pay $80 for the recharge.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Chicagoland
    Posts
    210
    Originally posted by alofile
    I have a R12 in basement for long time. I just use it few time for my old car (but the car was gone for ten years) so I think it has a lot left. But I don't know where I can get R22 on the market. I mean a small bottom. I don't want to buy 30 lb again. BTW it need CAD $80 for the recharge the R22. What can I do or pay $80 for the recharge.
    They sell 12 oz cans of 22 @ autozone
    Don't know why but they do-

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4
    That is good. I will go to the State in this few week. Do you know how much is it.
    Thank you.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    240
    [QUOTE]Originally posted by bbk
    [B] They are two completely different refrigerants,won't mix at all.

    Isn't R-500 a mixture of 12 and 22???

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    172
    Not so sure that I would use a 20 dollar per pound refrigerant in place of a 2 dollar per pound anyway. How much R12 have you got? You could probably sell it and raise enough cash to have someone properly service your AC system.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    996
    80 bucks for a recharge? Sounds like a hell of a bargain. I don't know of any reputable tech who would charge a system for that kind of money. My service charge is more than that without the cost of freon. Also I don't believe there is any way I could check for leaks, evac. recharge and check out the system in 1 hr. so there would definetly be more than a service call charge in labour. Good luck, if you feel like buying a new system in the near future go ahead and save a couple of bucks and charge it yourself. I'm not saying it can't be done but I seriously doubt you can do it correctly.
    "Go big or Go Home"

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event