Exclamation

Hi, everyone,
    I am an entry-level engineer. I have never doing any projects before. So I have a few problems.
    1) After I calculate the loads, load of some room is small, only 4 or 5 inch flexible duct are enough. So can I use a 4 or 5 inch flexible ducts, then connect the duct to a 24*24 diffuser( diameter maybe 6 inch) ????
    2) Most runouts diameters are 7 or 8 inches, so can I connect 7 inch flexible ducts to 8 inch diameter diffuser(24*24) through a transition? This is a similar question as question 1.
    I really need your advice. I am waiting online.
    Thanks a lot.

[Edited by wyblueheart on 06-10-2005 at 08:54 AM]

You're not going to find too many diffusers with necks smaller than 6". I'd just use that as a minimum size.

If you're specifying vav boxes, the smallest size is 6". Order a 4" or 5" box, and you'll get a 6" with a reducer on the inlet. Why bother?

Something else.. if you're coming up with tiny loads in some spaces, you may want to consider just transferring some air through there to keep the temperature reasonable. A toilet room with a 75 cfm exhaust fan doesn't really need a supply grille. Nobody cares if their 3'x6' storage room is conditioned to 72º, even if it's on an outside wall.

Is odd number size duct even available? Any job that we design/engineer we only use even numers for round duct sizes. If it requires a 7" duct, we use 8" etc.

For office room 10*12 without exterior wall, only 80CFM is needed according to my calculation.

Here's a little chart we used in our engineering firm

5" 0 - 100 CFM
    6" 101 - 150 CFM
    8" 151 - 300 CFM
    10" 301 - 400 CFM
    12" 401 - 600 CFM
    14" 601 - 800 CFM
    16" 801 - 1200 CFM
    18" 1201 - 1600 CFM

We limit our flex duct runs to 10 FT and they are supported every 3 FT. Hard elbows must be used when turning down into a diffuser.