Air conditioner not cold
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3
    Hello, thank you for joining HVAC-Talk! We have a lot of HVAC Pros here
    who can help you make decisions and give advice about a broad range of
    comfort problems. We do have a policy, which we find works well, that
    stops us from giving explicit instructions on do it yourself repairs or
    installations. I respectfully ask that you respect this policy. Please do
    not be offended, the site is free and can not be everything to all
    members. You can read the complete set of rules here:
    http://hvac-talk.com/vbb/showthread.php?threadid=1241

    Thank you

    BC-1
    HVAC-Talk Moderator


    [Edited by BC1 on 06-08-2005 at 03:31 PM]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    534
    Need more info. what size system, is it a heat pump or straight cool, what were the temps inside and out, model # on units. There are many possibilities that could cause this, air however is not one of them.
    "If you can't fix it, don't break it."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,157

    Talking

    the high side was reading 150 (normal)and low side Retard.


    looking for the retard side of that gauge. How Retarded is the low side of your system

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    534
    Originally posted by ct2
    the high side was reading 150 (normal)and low side Retard.


    looking for the retard side of that gauge. How Retarded is the low side of your system

    ct2, that would be above 120 psi on the low side (vapor) of an R22 system.
    "If you can't fix it, don't break it."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Dixie
    Posts
    1,344
    rickm have you made the call yet?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3
    The model number is 38CK(M),Split-System Air Conditioner. This is a stright coolant system. The size is 22-1/2".

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    S.W. PA
    Posts
    3,298
    Isn’t there a BIG fine for hooking up gauges if you are not certified to do so?
    Also I thought rules said no D.I.Y.?



  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    chicago suburbs
    Posts
    4,422
    just keep adding refrigerant until the jug is empty.
    FILL OUT YOUR PROFILE!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    3

    Confused

    Sorry, I had not plan to fix the problem my self. I asked the question only to have a better understanding of what's involved when I speak to a service representative! I wasn't looking for service,or even to pin point the problem so that I could do-it-myself. I don't consider myself an expert and would leave that to individuals that are certified.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    534
    The word ASSUME quickly comes to mind here, along with it's spelling. Not meant at you either rick.
    "If you can't fix it, don't break it."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event