Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    996
    Does anyone use an infared gun to check for line temps? I am using a clamp on "K" thermocouple right now. Just wondering if the infared thermometers are accurate enough? Have to buy a new unit pretty soon as the old dual probe unit is on the way out.
    "Go big or Go Home"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Eufaula OK
    Posts
    4,175
    I would not recommend it. Mine is not reliable enough to set superheat. And even if it were it would be a hassle to hold it while you charge a system.
    Nothing beats as accurate clamp on digital meter. The other lead on mine shows accurate Ambient at condenser. The duel lead makes it prefect for setting hps charge too.
    Jax

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    996
    Ya I am using a dual probe TPI and it has been working well, I was thinking of using the infared for doing quick spot checks of the lines when checking the charge not when charging. I will have to check it against my TPI and see if they are anywhere near the same temp reading.
    "Go big or Go Home"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    92
    I have a small Raytek infra-red, I have tried using it to take line measurements but found myself questioning the reading every time. It seemed to change its reading as you moved it back and forth on the line a few inches. I still use my pipe clamp.
    Yes we have air conditioning in our igloos.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    395
    I been using a Fieldpiece st4 with a fluke clamp probe. Work great. Infared are to jumpy and not that accurate. They have there place but Supperheat/subcooling are not one of them.
    Tin Knockers BANG for a living

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    496
    I checked the infared against my CPS superheat line probe the other day.Was suprised that they read the same temp! You just have to put the infared right on the pipe.
    If I know I'm going Crazy,I must not be Insane

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event