Current draw during startup - Carrier AC - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 27 to 33 of 33
  1. #27
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Huntsville,AL
    Posts
    4,125
    and, you may have a pp sine wave from the new generator! = clipped waves

    what is the rms voltage? the rms amperage draw? how good is your meter? how many times have you used this meter to read starting currents?

  2. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    28
    cem-bsee

    I think the meter you are referring to was the meter on the military generator I used to have. I never used it to look at the starting current.

    Stevehvac,

    I am running the system off of 240 volts now so there shouldn't be a problem with the transformer and 22 volts versus 24 volts. The data plate on the compressor lists the motor as 208/230 volts with acceptable range from 187 volts to 256 volts.


  3. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    28
    I checked the fuses at the outdoor unit and both were good. That is they showed a short on the ohm meter. The HVAC techs here where I work believe the problem is in the 24 volt contact side of things. They believe the contacts are making and then breaking and could be a weak coil or thermostat issue. I have a call into the dealer who installed the unit and am anxiously awaiting to get him out to look.

    Thanks to all

    Mike

  4. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,927
    Originally posted by mikecales
    Stevehvac,

    I am running the system off of 240 volts now so there shouldn't be a problem with the transformer and 22 volts versus 24 volts. The data plate on the compressor lists the motor as 208/230 volts with acceptable range from 187 volts to 256 volts.

    Okay...what he was saying was this:Your transformer likely consists of different "taps" on the primary side,one for 208,one for 240.They should match the voltage you are presently feeding in...

    You can check to see if the contactor is pulling closed or not,that should tell you something.

  5. #31
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Huntsville,AL
    Posts
    4,125
    no, I am refering to any troubleshooting meter for use on an electrical system -- should be one which reads the RMS values for alternating circuits -- usually costs more --

    what is the control voltage value when the unit is trying to start? the "24v"

  6. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    28
    Jacob,

    The transformer was set up for 240 originally and that is what I am applying. When I ran the unit off of 208 I did not make any changes ( only out of ignorance that I was supposed to). Then when I switched back to 240 everything was still operating fine. That was last summer. After the winter I switched generators from the old one to a new one and am now having the problem. I wish I still had the old one so I could eliminate one of the two possible causes = generator or air conditioner?

    Mike

  7. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    2,927
    Originally posted by jacob perkins
    Originally posted by mikecales
    You can check to see if the contactor is pulling closed or not,that should tell you something.

    Okay,it still sounds to me like the problem is in the control circuit.Of couse,I am only guessing based on what I read here.


Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event