Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 20

Thread: wire size

  1. #1

    Red face wire size

    Nordyne Package P5RD-036k w/ 10kW heat strip MCA 52 amps MOP 60 amps recommended wire size #8 shouldn't it be #6

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    SouthEast NC ICW & Piedmont Foothills
    Posts
    7,619
    who recommends # 8

    it'll work, not necessarily the preferred wire size

    i believed in pulling to the max, fuse to the minimum.....
    It`s better to be silent and thought the fool; than speak and remove all doubt.

  3. #3
    OEM install guide

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Citrus County, Florida
    Posts
    1,400
    do a google search for ampacity. You can pull 55 amps with #8
    Doug

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Pan Handle, Fl
    Posts
    598

    60 Amp requires #6

    Breaker size is suppose to match wire amp rating. 60 amp breaker requires #6 wire.
    Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again expecting a different outcome!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,291
    Use #6. You can always go bigger but not smaller. Go too big and the lug won't accept the wire size. With a 60amp breaker you should never go smaller than a #6 EVER!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Jamestown,SC
    Posts
    45
    I would go with a 6. If you ever added 5 kw you would still be safe. A heavier wire will also make it easier to sleep at night.....

  8. #8
    It really depends on the quality of the wire (amount of insulation it has around it)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    93
    Master Electrician here, # 6 SEC or THHN, number 6 NM is only rated for 55 amps.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by Gunslinger View Post
    do a google search for ampacity. You can pull 55 amps with #8
    That is only if both the terminals on the breaker and equipment are 90C rated.

    #8 AWG is OK if all the requirements are met (assuming 52A load/min circ rating). The terminals need to be 90C rated and the wire must be 90C rated. For copper wire it needs to be something like THHN, THHW, THW-2, THWN-2, etc as per table 310.16 in the NEC. Also make sure none of the run is exposed on a rooftop.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by simplyrollin View Post
    It really depends on the quality of the wire (amount of insulation it has around it)
    It's not the amount, it's the type.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Red Deer, Alberta
    Posts
    653
    Quote Originally Posted by perryaire View Post
    Master Electrician here, # 6 SEC or THHN, number 6 NM is only rated for 55 amps.
    Yes! As others have suggested, just google "ampacity" and you'll get the answer, be safe and don't even consider undersized electrical wiring on high load circuits...

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    551
    Quote Originally Posted by enb54 View Post
    Yes! As others have suggested, just google "ampacity" and you'll get the answer, be safe and don't even consider undersized electrical wiring on high load circuits...
    He may be a master electrician but #6 is the absolute most conservative choice and overkill. The code allows #8 for 55A as long as the breaker terminals, equipment terminals and insulation all meet the 90C rating requirements.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event