Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 45
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    illinois
    Posts
    257
    I asked my contractor if he pulls a vacuum after he charges the system and asked about using a micron gauge which I learned about on this site. He says he uses a U tube manometer which accomplishes the same thing. Is he correct?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,157
    yea , the little bitty marks on that U-tube measure microns

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Actually I remember those days,micron guages haven't always been around,we didn't all grow up in a electronics/digital age.


    U-tube filled with Mercury,was used before digital,read in inches of mercury,not microns.


    Is this guy as old as me?

    I remember getting one for refrigation work,way back in the late 60's,had it mounted to a huge belt driven vacuum pump.


    I surprised any one would still be using one today,sure he's not pulling your leg?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    SW FL
    Posts
    6,295

    Correct is ALL Relative !

    Originally posted by heetseeker
    He says he uses a U tube manometer which accomplishes the same thing. Is he correct?
    If his age = 74 +, he is correct.
    Designer Dan
    It's Not Rocket Science, But It is SCIENCE with "Some Art". ___ ___ K EEP I T S IMPLE & S INCERE

    Define the Building Envelope and Perform a Detailed Load Calc: It's ALL About Windows and Make-up Air Requirements. Know Your Equipment Capabilities

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    illinois
    Posts
    257
    No he wasn't kidding. He seems to be in his mid fifties.
    Maybe that is also why he said he never heard of using nitrogen with brazing with 30 years in the industry. He uses 15% silver solder for brazing but no nitrogen. How important is the nitrogen since I have read on this site that you still get ash with the nitrogen?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    North Richland Hills, Texas
    Posts
    14,914
    A U tube manometer couldn't possibly have the resolution at low microns that a micron gauge has. It would be only slightly more accurate than a compound gauge....
    If more government is the answer, then it's a really stupid question.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    illinois
    Posts
    257
    Do you have to pull a vacuum to more than a certain level or just to a certain level. Is the precision a signicant factor?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,095
    You won't get any ash with if you braze with nitrogen flowing through the pipe while you braze.

    I find it hard to believe anybody still uses a u tube for vacuum. But its possible.

    You should have asked him to see it, its a museum piece.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  9. #9
    Originally posted by beenthere


    You should have asked him to see it, its a museum piece.
    Not true Yellow Jacket still sells them I have one, manufactured by The Scot & Fetzer Company, never used it. Bought it from that surplus equiment place on the internet... In Indiana near John...

    Wish it were a musuem piece I'd sell it,lol
    AllTemp Heating & Cooling

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,095
    Originally posted by AllTemp
    Originally posted by beenthere


    You should have asked him to see it, its a museum piece.
    Not true Yellow Jacket still sells them I have one, manufactured by The Scot & Fetzer Company, never used it. Bought it from that surplus equiment place on the internet... In Indiana near John...

    Wish it were a musuem piece I'd sell it,lol
    Ain't seen one since the 70's.

    Thanks for the update.

    Why did you buy it.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  11. #11

    Because I could...

    Originally posted by beenthere
    Originally posted by AllTemp
    Originally posted by beenthere


    You should have asked him to see it, its a museum piece.
    Not true Yellow Jacket still sells them I have one, manufactured by The Scot & Fetzer Company, never used it. Bought it from that surplus equiment place on the internet... In Indiana near John...

    Wish it were a musuem piece I'd sell it,lol
    Ain't seen one since the 70's.

    Thanks for the update.

    Why did you buy it.
    Just looked interesting saw it in their catalog and it was cheap....
    AllTemp Heating & Cooling

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Gold Coast of Connecticut
    Posts
    4,586
    heetseeker
    Member

    I would not get over excited or worried, i almost never use a micron gauge and have never used nitrogen to braze a few lines on a residential cooling unit. I pride myself on quality work and I have never ever had a problem with a small system due to not using nitrogen or a micron gauge unless it was a severe burnout or sucked in moisture.

    Relax and let the man install you new system.

    Aire Serv of SW Connecticut- Gas heat, dual fuel and central a/c systems installed and serviced

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    illinois
    Posts
    257
    freeze
    Why do you say you have not had a problem with a "small"
    system. I will have a 4 ton and a 1.5 ton a/c placed. Are you talking small in relation to commercial jobs? How do you get rid of moisture in the system without a micron gauge?

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event