Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    i had a previous post about my central air but its currently mia. my outside unit does not come on, but when i jump the y to r it kicks on, what does this mean? bad wiring or bad thermostat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,960
    Originally posted by lsabucco
    i had a previous post about my central air but its currently mia. my outside unit does not come on, but when i jump the y to r it kicks on, what does this mean? bad wiring or bad thermostat
    My vote would go for the stat. .
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    the wiring on the thermostat itself is all correct, its a new thermostat, i beleive the guy who put it in tinkered with stuff,

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,960
    Well if you jumped yellow to red and outside came on you have a stat problem.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    so the new stat is just junk, anything else i should try before i replace it?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,960
    I did not say it was junk only that you have a stat issue could be wired wrong or etc.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    any ideas how i can narrow it down/?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Houston,Tx.
    Posts
    15,960
    tie the green,red,and yellow wires at the stat together and if blower fan and compressor outside comes on you have a stat problem, I don't like giving play by plays here as an HO you can only go so far before you really need to call a service tech. so you don't create for yourself more problems hope this will narrow down your problem.
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    “Experience is a hard teacher because she gives the test first, the lesson afterwards". - Vernon Law

    "Never let success go to your head, and never let failure go to your heart". - Unknown

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    6,965

    Hmm

    what brand and model is it,if it has an cool or auto for system make sure its on either. if your jumping out at the subbase R for fan G...cool Y and they run its in the stat,and the wiring is solid to the AHU and the condenser possible programming item.
    "when in doubt...jump it out" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1qEZHhJubY

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    1,634
    Give us more details about what's happening.. Thermostats are often blamed, but rarely are the actual problem. In this case, it's sounding more likely, but 99% of the time it's not a stat prob as long as you're using a good quality thermostat. Now, if that thermostat is made by Hunter, Rite-Temp, Lux, or some other DIY-grade stat, all bets are off.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    5
    its a white rogers brand

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    996
    Make sure it has a jumper from rc to rh if it is required on this model. Only way to test the stat is by checking continuity on the terminals when it is calling for heat/cool. disconnect the wiring and set it to call for cooling, then check and see if you have a closed circuit between Y and R. If you do then the tsat is calling for cooling and working properly, if not replace it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event