Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    13

    Question

    I have 3 proposals from HVAC companies for adding 3 zones to my existing 2 story house. 2 are recommending zone a temp and the other ewc equipment and all 3 are suggesting Arzel as an option. Can anyone tell me the difference between the ewc and zone a temp products? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    From what i know,take a closer look at the Arzel.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    68,311
    The main difference between EWC, and trol a temp is the damper motors.

    They both can heat one zone, and then when its satified switch to cooling if a different zone calls for cooling.

    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,299
    Look at how they handle temperature control and if a 2 stage setup, how they handle staging.

    I'm familiar with the Honeywell TZ4 and Zonex 4+2. The TZ4 can stage based on % of zones calling which keeps the furnace off high if there is little load. The 4+2 times to high but will throttle to low if supply temp gets too high. Most panels will constantly cycle on & off with 1 zone calling, something that isn't good for the furnace nor efficient.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    13
    we are planning to use the zoning with a trane xv90 variable
    stage furnace. so please explain to me what i should be aware of given the different zoning technologies. In other words how should zoning work with the variable speed furnace
    and which zoning systems can best provide the solution.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Take a look at Carrier's Variable Speed ,Infinity zoning system.The zone control,directly controls the the fan(like no other) ,no bypass damper needed.If it's two stage gas and/or compressor it controls the statges as needed.

    The best residential zoning system I've ever seen.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN, USA
    Posts
    34,299
    If you are gonna use the XV90, I'd use the Honeywell TZ4 and make sure the installer sets it up for % of zones calling. Then it will take all 3 zones calling for heat to fire on high. When 2 zones drop out and 1 remains, it will return to low. It will shut off when the last zone satisfies. There's also a digital sensor in the supply to keep the furnace limit from opening or the A coil from freezing. Not the capability of the Infinity but if you are using a Choo Choo, I'd go that route.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    2,683
    Originally posted by dash
    Take a look at Carrier's Variable Speed ,Infinity zoning system.The zone control,directly controls the the fan(like no other) ,no bypass damper needed.If it's two stage gas and/or compressor it controls the statges as needed.

    The best residential zoning system I've ever seen.
    DASH have you installed Infinity zoning in your home yet? Our guys are just raving about how great it is!

    I want to upgrade my CZ II to Infinity, but would have to change out my MVP, tough to convince the wife since the CZ II and MVP combo works great! LOL
    Live each day like it is your last, for one day you will be right!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    hvac r us 2,


    Changed one system in our home ,from CZ2,to Infinity last July,the performance is great,and the kw usage went down 8 to 12%.I think it dropped due to ,no bypass ,better management of the dampers/zones ,and the fact that it stays in low speed most of the time.


    Just look in the returned warranty parts bin,and get what you need to "upgrade" your MVP!LOL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    13
    can this carrier zoning system be used with trane furnace xv90/xr12 (or xli16) ac and be "easily" retro-fitted into existing duct work?

    IS it a better solution than Arzel. My reservation with Arzel is that all 3 have proposed it, but neither has ever installed one and I don't want to be the 1st project.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    2,683
    Originally posted by dash
    hvac r us 2,

    Just look in the returned warranty parts bin,and get what you need to "upgrade" your MVP!LOL
    ROFL!!! Thats how I got my CZ II! LOL

    MVP and TXA was scratch and dent! Think I will take a walk out into the warehouse now....might have to kick an MVP! LOL
    Live each day like it is your last, for one day you will be right!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Office and warehouse in both Crystal River & New Port Richey ,FL
    Posts
    18,836
    Originally posted by gregam
    can this carrier zoning system be used with trane furnace xv90/xr12 (or xli16) ac and be "easily" retro-fitted into existing duct work?

    IS it a better solution than Arzel. My reservation with Arzel is that all 3 have proposed it, but neither has ever installed one and I don't want to be the 1st project.

    Arzel is known for excellent support of their dealers,so I wouldn't worry about being the first.It's not all that different ,from others.

    I sell the Carrier Infinity,requires The new GE version 2.5 VS motor,and likely the factory programing of the motor,So it only works with Carrier,and then only certain models.

    Infinity works as well as you can,with existing ducts.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    13

    Question

    thanks dash ... that's reassuring abour arzel .. although
    i have also read on this forum that arzel can be noisy if not installed correctly.

    i also posted another related question ... can the trane xv90 be used effectively with zoning ... one trane dealer
    told me no ... he said if all zones or a small zone calls then the it won't really operate "right". so it gets installed it's "wired" as a singoe speed? not sure i have it right ... but
    is there some mystery here that i need to be aware of?


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event