Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    NJ - WORK IN NYC AREA
    Posts
    1,448

    Hmm COMFORT AIR HP R410A PRESS PROBLEMS

    Hi Guys,
    We have a small 7 story residential building with R22 heat pumps, water cooled.

    We have had this account for 6 years and never had head pressure problems till last month. The unit range from 2 to 4 ton in the apartments.

    Last month one R-22 burned out its compressor and we bought the exact factory replacement with R410A. The unit head pressure was running up to 600 psi and would kick out on the saftey. (610)
    Again, NO problems with any of the other R-22 in building at this time. Based on all info, the water flow for the unit is the same as per the R-22 unit we removed???
    Has anyone had any pressure problem when you change them out from 22 to a 410 unit?? All piping the same,no reg valves, nothing but the unit was changed.
    Last edited by mrhvacmechanic; 03-02-2011 at 09:46 PM. Reason: type o
    "My hands are for sale"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    2,192
    Quote Originally Posted by mrhvacmechanic View Post
    Hi Guys,
    We have a small 7 story residential building with R22 heat pumps, water cooled.

    We have had this account for 6 years and never had head pressure problems till last month. The unit range from 2 to 4 ton in the apartments.

    Last month one R-22 burned out its compressor and we bought the exact factory replacement with R410A. The unit head pressure was running up to 600 psi and would kick out on the saftey. (610)
    Again, NO problems with any of the other R-22 in building at this time. Based on all info, the water flow for the unit is the same as per the R-22 unit we removed???
    Has anyone had any pressure problem when you change them out from 22 to a 410 unit?? All piping the same,no reg valves, nothing but the unit was changed.
    I have done several changouts of WS HP form 22 to 410a. i have never had a problem like this as long as you kept the tonnage the same..
    Can you disconnect the hoses or use a drain valve to assure there is water present in the condenser?
    Can you take a split across the condenser to see if any heat is being absorbed?
    How long does it run?
    usually there is a strainer before the inlet of the coil.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    4,336
    Quote Originally Posted by mrhvacmechanic View Post
    Hi Guys,
    We have a small 7 story residential building with R22 heat pumps, water cooled.

    We have had this account for 6 years and never had head pressure problems till last month. The unit range from 2 to 4 ton in the apartments.

    Last month one R-22 burned out its compressor and we bought the exact factory replacement with R410A. The unit head pressure was running up to 600 psi and would kick out on the saftey. (610)
    Again, NO problems with any of the other R-22 in building at this time. Based on all info, the water flow for the unit is the same as per the R-22 unit we removed???
    Has anyone had any pressure problem when you change them out from 22 to a 410 unit?? All piping the same,no reg valves, nothing but the unit was changed.
    Was this in heat mode or cooling mode? Was it in both?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    15
    Recently changed out five 3 Ton WS HP, from R-22 to 410A with no issues. Any update on what you found?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    NJ - WORK IN NYC AREA
    Posts
    1,448

    Hmm

    Going to job tomorrow morning. None of the units have any themom.,guages or strainers on line. Like I mentioned this is our first problem, only with the change out.

    Unit same tonage. There was a high delta tee and unit runs high in either mode?? Thus indicating a flow problem?

    I don't know why my office didn't install guages and therm. when they changed it. Probably to save money as usual.

    I will now more to morrow and tell you what we find.
    "My hands are for sale"

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    NJ - WORK IN NYC AREA
    Posts
    1,448

    Hmm

    There's defintly a flow problem here. The only way to install pressure guages is to drain risers and do it.

    Since we have no other problems in the building, I think maybe in shutting off the old 3/4 globe valves the stem may have broken? Either that or something logged in the seat when it was reopened. Maybe a peice of debrie??

    Once we cut lines we will know.
    "My hands are for sale"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    NJ - WORK IN NYC AREA
    Posts
    1,448
    Going to job tomorrow to install guages. Will keep you up to date.
    "My hands are for sale"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    NJ - WORK IN NYC AREA
    Posts
    1,448

    Cool

    When we cut the lines for the guages to be installed, we found the leaving water globe valve all clogged with debrie.

    We back flushed the line and reconnected. Pressures perfect.
    "My hands are for sale"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event