Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 19

Thread: Rtaa oil filter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Not in Iran
    Posts
    1,093

    Rtaa oil filter

    Working on rtaa 140 1991 Omg . So much oil.. I closed oil line king valve, front seat.,
    Closed discharge line and suction on compressor
    Went to drain left over oil and it kept coming. I had to stop or I would have
    Taken the whole oil circuit. Anybody ran across this. Was talking with
    Trane tech, he said something must not be holding. Any thoughts
    no signature blast'em man blast'em
    !!!KILL THE TERRORIST!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Mixing oil and fire with a big spoon.
    Posts
    4,388
    what were you getting? only oil or oil foam?

    you are SUPPOSED to recovery the refrigerant first...if you did that, then you would have noticed that something wasn't holding. i have not had any issues with a valve not holding, but then again, i try to convince my customers not to change the oil filters.
    When I am late for work, I usually make up for it by leaving early.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,063
    i try to convince my customers not to change the oil filters.

    Yep Im with Jay on this one chances are theres nothing wrong with that filter your changing .
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    In a mechanical room....
    Posts
    1,888
    Ran out of rags did ya?
    “It takes courage to grow up and turn out to be who you really are.”

    - E.E. Cummings

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    maryland
    Posts
    1,355
    Third the "filter no change" campiagn. I've changed a few in my day and it's never solved the problem.
    Saving the world...one service call at a time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dixiana, AL
    Posts
    2,610
    I've never understood the "don't change the oil filter, that's not the problem" thing. I do agree that if it doesn't need changing, then don't change it, but if it shouldn't be changed at all, then why did Trane see a need for one in the first place? I've had several over the years that stable high loading conditions and stable "normal" head pressures gave raised pressure drops through the oil filter, and replacing the filter solved the problem. Granted, it's not a "do this first" fix. It does need testing to see that you have an issue. But to say it's never the problem is a little short-sighted, don't y'all think?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,063
    The reason for the filter is to catch "Manufacturing debris" . It is oversized for the application and should only be changed if conditions dictate ie-: compressor failure/burnout,excessive pressure drop across the filter(not the whole oil circuit).
    I have worked on so many RTAAs its not funny . Never had a restricted oil filter .Oil flow codes/ issues have been caused by other problems not the filter , mainly compressors starting loaded and out of calibration oil DP switches .
    Have I changed the filter ....Yes but only when conditions dictate not as a shot in the dark lets change it just because I think it MIGHT fix it .
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Dixiana, AL
    Posts
    2,610
    Quote Originally Posted by graham View Post
    The reason for the filter is to catch "Manufacturing debris" . It is oversized for the application and should only be changed if conditions dictate ie-: compressor failure/burnout,excessive pressure drop across the filter(not the whole oil circuit).
    I have worked on so many RTAAs its not funny . Never had a restricted oil filter .Oil flow codes/ issues have been caused by other problems not the filter , mainly compressors starting loaded and out of calibration oil DP switches .
    Have I changed the filter ....Yes but only when conditions dictate not as a shot in the dark lets change it just because I think it MIGHT fix it .
    I believe you said the same thing that I said. If the filter has excess pressure drop under otherwise normal operating conditions, it's time for it to go. Hard to grasp that you've never seen one do that......

    I've seen many of the other issues you mention, also, and they shouldn't be misconstrued operationally as a restricted oil filter, but I just find it hard to fathom that no one from Trane has ever seen one of these things have enough debris in it to cause excess pressure drop without something else causing the issue. You could come back and ask what could get in the filter in a sealed system, and that's a fair question. I don't have an answer to that. But I have seen more than one that had excess pressure drop thru the filter at "otherwise normal operating conditions" but had no other service problems during it's life (and they're all still running with no excess vibration, noise, or capacity loss - I know what you're thinkin' ). Don't happen every day, but it has happened.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Not in Iran
    Posts
    1,093

    almost an oil bath.,

    Quote Originally Posted by chrishvacman View Post
    Ran out of rags did ya?


    the oil coming out was foam not straight oil., ., wow, to change the oil filter on the rtaa, one MUST recover the whole refrigerant charge?? telling me that i cant isolate the filter by isolation of the compressor section .,?? i was following sb10

    thanks
    no signature blast'em man blast'em
    !!!KILL THE TERRORIST!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Va.
    Posts
    180
    jayguy ment for you to recover the refrigerant from the oil filter and isolated oil line, not recover the whole charge. Why are you changing the oil filter in the fist place. The oil filter almost never needs to be replaced. In fact I've never had a restricted oil filter.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    ottawa canada
    Posts
    2,063
    The oil filter almost never needs to be replaced. In fact I've never had a restricted oil filter.


    I believe we already told him this but remember were dealing with mlkwal1 here !!!!!!!!!!
    The 64 roars to life Whoo hoo ...shes a rolling chassis .
    You bend em" I"ll mend em" !!!!!!!
    I"m not a service tech.. I"m a thermodynamic transfer analyst & strategic system sustainability specialist
    Best Austin Healey In Show twice in 2013 .....All those hrs paid off .

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Not in Iran
    Posts
    1,093
    The nusiance 199 oil flow diag. Did the coils, checked the calibration on the switch set at 40 to 50.
    Checked the pd across the filter and was in range,, and checked all fans and rotation.,
    I gave customer the scenaro and the what causes the diag. There is no fan upgrade kit, however the machine is 1999. He said to change it, even though j told him that the pd was good across filter. And switch is in range
    no signature blast'em man blast'em
    !!!KILL THE TERRORIST!!!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Not in Iran
    Posts
    1,093
    I know u love me graham. Just think one day I can be smart ass u
    Anyways, I was not asking what is causing the diag. Asking ? About filter,
    no signature blast'em man blast'em
    !!!KILL THE TERRORIST!!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event