I'm currently at a crossroad in my career. I have been a machinist for the past 18 yrs and make about 48,000 to 52,000 a year. My dilema is that this field is dying out in america. Everything is being outsourced to China and Mexico. My thinking is to get into a service industry like HVAC but my concern is,what do HVAC companies think of people straight out of a hvac school,are these hvac schools any good at preparing people for the workfoce,what does someone with no workforce experience start at as far as salary. Also, what can I achieve in this field and how long would it take me to become a top paid HVAC TECH.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by cheezee
    [B] I'm currently at a crossroad in my career. I have been a machinist for the past 18 yrs and make about 48,000 to 52,000 a year. My dilema is that this field is dying out in america.

Don't give it up now. Any trade Machinist, electrication, HVAC, Carpenter, Plumber there are no true CRAFTSMAN out there.
    Do a search for other shops in your trade. It’s a big country. God you put in 18 years, That’s worth a lot.
    Do you really want to start over again? I wouldn’t. Good Luck and keep looking.
    Contact me pecmsg at aol

Paul

I worked for Total Fina on chemical reactors making about 45K a year when I finally got sick of it. The switch over from that to HVAC really hurt in the wallet, and this was considering that I had attended schooling for HVAC before and even had some old job experience.

I must have asked myself a hundred times if I made the right decision. But I'm single. Stuck to it and still have some ways to go before I get back to where I left off, but I'm happy where I am and glad for the change.

I don't think I could have pulled it off with a wife and kids.

How long to become a top paid hvac tech?

How long did it take you to become a top paid machinist.

It varies with the company you work for, as far as pay.
    How quickly you learn things.