Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: outside unit

  1. #1
    I had someone out to install a goodman heating unit,buut he can't seem to get it hooked up with a rud inside unit.
    Can you hook up a goodman with a rud?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Zelienople, Pa
    Posts
    2,965
    You can, but it is not advised.

    Going the cheap route? Why not get a Goodman indoor section?
    How tall are you Private???!!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    706

    Hmm s

    as long as they are the same size, i don't see why not. sounds like your installer needs some work on his low voltage wiring. especially at the thermostat.rheem condensers energize the reversing valve for heating and goodmans' energize for cooling. pay a licensed service tech to wire the low voltage, service call & about 30 minutes to an hour to wire up, depending on location of air handler.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,705
    Like badbillr, I'm guessing your talking about wiring it, its like he said, it needs rewired inside and out.

    And a good tech should know how to do that.

    How old is the indoor unit.

    And as yellow said, its better if they match.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Let me get this straight... he sold an outdoor unit to be matched to an exsisitng indoor unit, delivered it, piped it in and now bailed because he doesnt know how to wire it?

    My suspicion is this unit was bought over the internet and the instructions dont clearly show how to apply it to a mixed system. If Im wrong sorry, just cant imagine the lack of thought by a legitiamate contractor.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Lancaster PA
    Posts
    67,705
    Sounds like a newbie side jobbin.
    Contractor locator map

    How-to-apply-for-Professional

    How many times must one fix something before it is fixed?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    3,400
    Originally posted by canladync
    I had someone out to install a goodman heating unit,buut he can't seem to get it hooked up with a rud inside unit.
    Can you hook up a goodman with a rud?
    Is this "someone" a licensed contractor?

    Have you paid him?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Toledo, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    12,901
    That's funny. So the first place he turns is to the internet for help. Call Home Depot and ask them. Go to the library and check out some books, if all else fails break down and call someone that might know what they are doing and pay them. LOL.
    No Heat No Cool You need Action Fast

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    211
    I'm not the smartest person on earth but I think that someone is fishing here.
    I had a guy a while back tell me he was EPA certified then asked me what type of freon should he put in a in his a\c.
    I tell ya we're dealing with people just fishing at times, maybe what is going on with this thread, I think that the guy who sold you the unit doesn't know what is going on, reason he brought up about matching them.
    Go figure

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event