Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    42yrs exp is offline Professional Member BM -bad email address
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    176
    In reference to a smoke detector.What do you mean when you said " You're kidding, right?

    Where can I get a 24 volt (or 220 volt)hard wire smoke detector. I have looked all over, I have been around for a very long time),and Usually install a 115 volt detector. But in this case I need a 230 or 24 volt (no battery operated. The customer does not want to pay an electrican (or me) to run a new wire from the breaker panel to the attic for a 115 volt detector. Since there is 230 to the attic I can use a 230 or 24 volt detector. I live and work in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. If there is a multi voltage smoke detector. Who had has it????

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    106

    Carrier Zoning.

    I was at a home(for a social function) that has carrier zoning. They have 2 systems & each system has a master tstat located inside the conditioned area. There are several(what appears to be sensors) in the zones. Each sensor is only about 2 inches square with no means of adjustment. The temperature for each zone is set in the master tsat. You can turn a dial in the master tsat to select each zone. We will probably be servicing this system. Does any one have info on these? Thank You, Lee

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Jacksonville, Fl
    Posts
    106
    Sorry, Wrong forum.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Huntsville,AL
    Posts
    4,125
    go to big box store, copy names of detector mfgr, call or visit online -- call local alarm companies --

    never heard of using either voltage for stand- alone detectors -- in 50yr

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    I believe Doc was refering to a duct smoke detector. These have multiple voltage inputs ie... 24v, 115v, 230v.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    san jose,ca.
    Posts
    5,285
    If you are asking about a duct mounted smoke detector with sampling tubes go to http://www.grainger.com grainger stock # 3pb54 . manufacture FIREX....

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Grottoes VA
    Posts
    5,856
    He just wants a regular smoke detector.


    If it is too much trouble to find a 230v detector (you may have to order from Europe). I would talk them into a 10year smoke detector. These have a 10 year, non replacable, lithium battery. This is a good option because a smokedetector needs replaced every 10 years anyway.
    Karst means cave. So, I search for caves.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    7,680
    Sorry, yes I thought by putting a smoke detector in the attic duct you meant a duct mounted smoke detector. My be I mis read. As far as a cheapo residential smoke detector goes, no I have never seen one either.

    you should try to keep the same post, rather than polluting the forum with a new one, or at least reference the one.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    3,157
    If it is too much trouble to find a 230v detector (you may have to order from Europe).

    ordering one from europe would do no good , they may have 220 volt power in europ but they use a 50 cycle system

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Kent, WA
    Posts
    129
    How large is the 240V circuit? The code, UL Listing, and manufacturer instructions, will most likely limit the smoke to a 15A or 20A circuit. Is your circuit this small?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event