Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 13 of 15
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    5

    Refrigerant monitors

    If you had a choice what brand would you replace one with.I have ten that are not operational for several differant reasons Trane wants Pricing Removed for a gas pump and I really dont like paying them if I dont have to.At least half of them will need to be replaced the other half I can get going but I am concerned due to the age I would be better off replacing them.
    Last edited by Chris_Worthington; 01-18-2011 at 10:02 AM. Reason: Removed pricing in post, please read the site rules in regards to pricing, etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Russellville, Alabama
    Posts
    26
    Could you be more specific please? Are you trying to monitor the liquid level in a standpipe of a chiller? Hansen makes a good system that will do this, and it has all kinds of user setpoints that can be manipulated for alarms, control of solenoid valves, etc...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    101
    I worked for a Trane office. Very high percentage of monitors broke within first year and broke again after being sent out to be fixed. High repair bills. We started using Vulcain and have had very good results. I think they are owned by Honeywell now.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    georgia
    Posts
    83
    Yokogawa/Bacharach is a good unit. I have one that has been in service for seven years.
    I do have a problem with it that just started a few days ago. I suspect the pump is the
    problem. Haven't had a chance to check it yet. I only work on monitors when I don't have anything else to do.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    126
    we've installed a few of the bacharach monitors in our area recently. work well and seem less problematic than some of the others, highly recommend them

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    AR15,
    This is what I have been using.
    http://www.genesis-international.com/
    I like them.
    I put a Sherlock system in at the mall, if you want to come look at it?
    give me a call.

    Frank
    I WILL SELL WORK,GENERATE BUSINESS, GO GET NEW CUSTOMERS!
    YOU SHUT THE HELL UP AND QUIT RUNNING YOUR MOUTH!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Kansas City
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the information I will look into the yokogawa and I have already looked into the Backarach monitors.I may take you up on the offer Frank but let me see if they are seriouse.I have a new IMC book on the way my old one is from 94 can anyone tell me if this is in a fire code in any way it may help with the customer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Central Oregon
    Posts
    131
    Its a guideline set forth by ASHRAE Standard 15. I put in a Sentech IR about a year ago. No trouble yet.
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. HST

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    7,321
    I am a fan of the honeywell/vulcain units. you can utilize various sesnors tied to one unit, so multiple refrigerants no problem. in rinks, we also use co sensors tied to them. easy to set up, lots of bells and whistles.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    4,990
    Ditto.

    Quote Originally Posted by GA FRANK View Post
    Yokogawa/Bacharach is a good unit. I have one that has been in service for seven years.
    I do have a problem with it that just started a few days ago. I suspect the pump is the
    problem. Haven't had a chance to check it yet. I only work on monitors when I don't have anything else to do.
    Your poor planning does not constitute an emergency on my part!!!!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    20
    We use Yokagowa/Bacharach monitors in the chiller plant here, years of trouble free service.
    Heatin, Ventin, Rockin, Rollin...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    3,228
    We have one sitting on the bench at work..boss wants to send it in to get rebuilt. Is this possible? unit is about 18yrs old. pump no longer runs..internal hoses deteriorated, etc, etc

    Wall mounted and was wired into an alarm system.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Kansas City, Kansas, United States
    Posts
    13,832
    Dude!!!!!!!

    throw it in the trash!!!!!!!!!!!!!










    Quote Originally Posted by yellowirenut View Post
    We have one sitting on the bench at work..boss wants to send it in to get rebuilt. Is this possible? unit is about 18yrs old. pump no longer runs..internal hoses deteriorated, etc, etc

    Wall mounted and was wired into an alarm system.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Comfortech Show Promo Image

Related Forums

Plumbing Talks | Contractor Magazine
Forums | Electrical Construction & Maintenance (EC&M) Magazine
Comfortech365 Virtual Event